Recording of the Southeast Asia Collections Webinar, held Feb 26, 2021 is available here: https://youtu.be/mxurA9rzS2o
The Southeast Asia Section at the University of Washington Libraries is planning a webinar highlighting the archival collections that will be the focus of a recent Henry Luce Foundation grant to the University of Washington, “Tracing Authoritarianism: Linking Southeast Asia and Southeast Asian-America Through Archives, Language, and Pedagogy.” The grant, which will fund archives fellowships and collaborations with cultural and memory institutions in Southeast Asia, will support work with archival collections as critical resources for the creation of public memory and reconciliation projects. Our partners in Southeast Asia: the Bophana Audiovisual Resource Center in Phnom Penh, the Yangon Film School in Yangon, and the Drug Archive at the Ateneo de Manila University are cultural institutions committed to public education programs that contribute to historical and political understanding. The webinar will feature speakers who are familiar with the archival collections we are targeting in our collaborations, and their potential didactic and artistic uses in outreach and peace and reconciliation programs, both in Southeast Asia and in diasporic Southeast Asian communities
7.00 – 7.05 Introductions: Judith Henchy, Head, SE Asia Section, University of Washington Libraries
7.05-7.25 The Adrian Cowell Collection: An extensive audio visual and text collection from British Documentary filmmaker Adrian Cowell from his work in Shan State in the 1960s to 1990s.
Speakers: John Buchanan, Tallinn University
John Buchanan is a Postdoctoral Fellow, Tallinn University. He is a researcher interested in the nexus of opium production, armed conflict, and state formation in Southeast Asia.
Khuensai Jaiyen, Pyidaungsu Institute, Chiang Mai
Khuensai Jaiyen Director of the Pyidaungsu Institute, Chiang Mai. Khuensai was born in Shan State, and was involved in the armed resistance from 1969-1996. He worked as a full time journalist from 1996-2013, and as a full time peace advocate since 2013.
Lindsey Merrison, Yangon Film School
Lindsey Merrison is representing the Yangon Film School. She is a British-born Anglo-Burmese documentary filmmaker and producer and founder of the award-winning Yangon Film School, a non-profit institution that for over 15 years has been dedicated to fostering a diverse media culture in Myanmar.
7.25-7.45 The Elizabeth Becker Collection: Research notes and photographs from journalist Elizabeth Becker’s historic visit to Democratic Kampuchea in December 1978.
Speakers: Jenna Grant, Prof Anthropology Department, University of Washington
Jenna Grant is Assistant Professor in the Department of Anthropology at the University of Washington, and faculty at the Southeast Asia Center. Her work centers on medicine and visuality in Cambodia.
Elizabeth Becker, Journalist
Elizabeth Becker is an award-winning journalist who began her career reporting during the war in Cambodia and is the author of three books on the region, most recently YOU DON’T BELONG HERE: How Three Women Rewrote the Story of War.
Adrian Alarilla, History PhD student at the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa
Adrian Alarilla (A-la-reel-ya) is a filmmaker, graduate of the MA in Southeast Asian Studies at UW, and current history PhD student at the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa studying Filipino migration history
7.45-8.05 The Alaska-Yukon-Pacific Exposition and Philippine Archive: Archive and Museum collections from the 1909 Worlds Fairs in Seattle and other artifacts.
Speakers: Rick Bonus, American Ethnic Studies Dept., University of Washington
Rick Bonus is Professor and Chair of American ethnic studies at the University of Washington.
Kathy Dougherty, Curator, Burke Museum, University of Washington
Kathy Dougherty serves as Collections Manager of Oceanic and Asian Culture at the Burke Museum.
8.05-8.15 The Tristuti Collection: Manuscripts of Indonesian exiled wayang author Tristuti Rachmadi.
Speakers: Christina Sunardi, Ethnomusicology Dept., University of Washington
Christina Sunardi is an Associate Professor of Ethnomusicology in the University of Washington School of Music and the Chair of the University of Washington Department of Dance with research interests in gamelan music, dance, and gender in Java, Indonesia.
Dimas Rohmadon, Grad. Student, Dept. of Anthropology, University of Washington
Dimas Rohomadon is Indonesian graduate student in the Department of Anthropology UW". Dimas has conducted research on the Tristuti collection.
8.15-8.20 The Robert Jones III Collection: Collection of books serials and files from a serving civilian officer during the American war in Viet Nam, spanning from the French colonial period and including diasporic materials.
Speaker: Judith Henchy, Head, Southeast Asia Section, University of Washington Libraries
Judith Henchy is the Head of the SEA Section at UW Libraries. She holds a PhD from UW History Dept. with a focus on 1930s Vietnamese intellectual history, and an affiliate faculty position in the Jackson School for International Studies at UW.
8.05-8.30 Open Discussion
UW Libraries | UW Bothell/CC Campus Library | UW Tacoma Library | Health Sciences Library
Responsible Use of Electronic Resources | Privacy | Terms