Research Guides
HSTRY 498: Race & Radicalism in US History: Background Sources
Why Use Background Sources?
Encyclopedias help you figure out the who, what & where of a topic. Knowing the who, what & where of a topic is the first step in researching a topic and discovering the "how" and "why". Encyclopedias can provide background information and can be used to identify key people, events and dates which can then be used as search terms for finding additional information. Many also provide a jumpstart on your research by listing related readings. Two online encyclopedia collections: Gale Ebooks & Oxford Reference Online.
Encyclopedias: Quick Info
- CQ Press Guide to Radical Politics in the United States.
This link opens in a new window
- Black Power Encyclopedia: From Black Is Beautiful to Urban Uprisings
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford African American Studies Center
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of American Civil Rights and Liberties
- This link opens in a new window
- Asian Americans: An Encyclopedia of Social, Cultural, Economic, and Political History
- This link opens in a new window
- Anti-Immigration in the United States: A Historical Encyclopedia
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of the Mexican American Civil Rights Movement
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of the American Indian Movement
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of American Indian History
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of American Social Movements
- This link opens in a new window
More In-Depth Context
Handbooks and companions provide more in-depth coverage of topics and often have a historiographical emphasis. The Oxford Research Encyclopedia: American History (ORE) is a new source that includes more than 400 article-length entries on a variety of topics. Note: ORE is single-user only so best to download the article(s) you need and close the browser tab so others can use.
- Oxford Handbook of Asian American History
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of Latino Studies
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of U.S. Women's Social Movement Activism
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of American Indian History
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Research Encyclopedia: American History
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to American Indian History
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of African American Citizenship, 1865-Present
- This link opens in a new window
- Routledge Handbook on Native American Justice Issues
- This link opens in a new window