Research Guides
ENVH 105: Toxic Tales, Spring 2022: Background Sources
Why Use Background Sources?
Encyclopedias help you figure out the who, what & where of a topic. Knowing the who, what & where of a topic is the first step in researching a topic and discovering the "how" and "why". Encyclopedias and dictionaries can provide background information and can be used to identify key people, events and dates which can then be used as search terms for finding additional information. Many also provide a jumpstart on your research by listing related readings. Both print and online encyclopedias are listed below.
Useful online encyclopedia collections: Gale Ebooks, Sage Reference Online, & Oxford Reference Online.
Toxicology Background Sources
- Casarett and Doull's Toxicology: The Basic Science of Poisons Overview of the biomedical and environmental aspects of toxicology, it provides a review of the basic components of toxicology, including general principles, modes of action, and chemical-specific toxicity.
This link opens in a new window
- Dangerous Properties of Industrial and Consumer Chemicals
- This link opens in a new window
- Dictionary of Toxicology
- This link opens in a new window
- Handbook of Hazardous Chemical Properties
- This link opens in a new window
- Handbook of Poisonous and Injurious Plants
- This link opens in a new window
- Hazardous Chemicals Desk Reference Offers a safety profile of 5000 of the most important hazardous chemicals.
- This link opens in a new window
- NIOSH Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards
- This link opens in a new window
- Patty's Toxicology Provides a new and international perspective to interpreting industrial toxicology, and discusses new subjects such as nanotechnology, flavorings and the food industry, reactive chemical control to comprehensive chemical policy, metalworking fluids, and pharmaceuticals.
- This link opens in a new window
- Poisoning & Drug Overdose Provides practical advice for the diagnosis and management of poisoning and drug overdose and concise information about common industrial chemicals.
- This link opens in a new window
