Research Guides
ENGL 199 / ENVIR 100: Interdisciplinary Writing/Natural Science (Fountain): Finding Scholarly Articles
How to Search for Articles
You can search the following databases to find scholarly articles on your topic. When searching, you may need to connect your keywords with the AND connector or use separate search boxes for each keyword. For example: "environmental activism" AND indigenous
If a PDF of an article is not included in a database then click on the purple Check for Full Text button 
to see if we have the article. If we do not have an online version of the article, you can request a scan of the article. See the FAQ: How do I request a book/article we don't have? for more information.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles and general interest sources in all fields. - Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles and other material covering environmental sciences. - America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly articles on American and Canadian history - Biological Science Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International database for biological science resources, 1946-present. Includes MEDLINE and TOXLINE. - Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Formerly Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstract (ASFA). International database for marine, freshwater and brackish water resources, early 1900's-present.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles on ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, and urban planning.
- Natural Science Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Composed of: Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection; Biological Science Collection; Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Collection. International database for natural science resources, 1946-present.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Social and public policy literature from periodicals, government documents, books, and other sources. - Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in the field of sociology, including international literature and other related disciplines.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citation index for the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. - Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scientific and management literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians.
Google Scholar
Because scholarly material for this class crosses disciplinary lines it can be useful to search the content of articles & books via Google Scholar.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowBe sure to link Google Scholar to the UW Libraries:
1. Click on the 3 lines in the upper left to get to the Google Scholar menu
2. Go to Settings, then "Library Links"
3. Type Washington in the Library Links search box and click 'Find Library' button.
4. Select UW from the list and save preferences.