Skip to main content
Individual study space @ Research Commons now available by reservation. All other Libraries spaces are closed. Online resources and support are available 24/7! UW Libraries COVID-19 Updates
General Weather Data
National Weather Service
National information on storm warnings, observations and forecasts. Includes maps, satellite and radar imagery.
World Weather Records
Published since 1927, and include monthly mean values of pressure, temperature, precipitation, and where available, station metadata notes documenting observation practices and station configurations.
1981-2010 U.S. Climate Normals
The 1981–2010 Climate Normals are NCEI's latest three-decade averages of climatological variables, including temperature and precipitation. This product replaces the 1971–2000 Climate Normals product, which remains available as historical data.
Heating & Cooling Degree Day Data
Designed to provide up-to-date heating fuel demand information on a state-wide basis. The total monthly series, by state, are available for the period 1931/32 through 1991/92.
Storms and Precipitation
Historical Hurricane Tracking Tool
Users can search by location, name and year and ocean basin. You can also filter results by category, timeframe, whether it was an El Nino or La Nina year, and pressure.
Hourly Precipitation Data
Contains hourly precipitation amounts by state obtained from recording rain gages located at National Weather Service, Federal Aviation Administration, and cooperative observer stations. [UW restricted]
Reports contain information on storm paths, deaths, injuries, and property damage. An "Outstanding storms of the month" section highlights severe weather events with photographs, illustrations, and narratives. [UW restricted]
U.S. Storm Events Database
Search the NCDC Storm Event database to find various types of storms recorded by county or other selection criteria.
U.S. Climate Atlas
These maps are based on the new nClimDiv (New Climate Division) dataset which uses daily observations of temperature and precipitation from over 10,000 stations in the U.S.
Precipitation Frequency Data Server
Contains current precipitation frequency information and documents by state from NOAA Atlas 14. Provides access to high-resolution ArcInfo ASCII grids, ESRI shapefiles, color cartographic maps for each state, temporal distributions of heavy precipitation, and more.
CISL Research Data Archive (RDA)
The CISL Research Data Archive (RDA) contains a large and diverse collection of meteorological and oceanographic observations, operational and reanalysis model outputs, and remote sensing datasets.
NCAR UCAR DASH Search
DASH Search allows users to find, browse, and access digital assets created and published by NCAR and UCAR Community Programs.
NCAR's Research Data Archive
The Research Data Archive (RDA) contains a large and diverse collection of meteorological and oceanographic observations, operational and reanalysis model outputs, and remote sensing datasets to support atmospheric and geosciences research, along with ancillary datasets, such as topography/bathymetry, vegetation, and land use.
National Oceanographic Data Center
The NODC archives and distributes global oceanographic data and information. The data is used to preserve a historical record of the Earth's changing environment for ocean climate research, and for operational applications.
Unidata is a data facilitator, not a data archive center. They provide a mechanism whereby educators and researchers, by participating in our Internet Data Distribution (IDD) system, may subscribe to streams of current data that interest them.
UW Data Resources
Atmospheric Sciences Dept
Includes climatological, local and national observational data along with forecasts, satellite and radar imagery and more.
Center for Science in the Earth System
Data archive comprises data and links for global and Pacific Northwest climate and natural resources.
Center for Social Science Computation and Research (CSSCR)
Though this is geared toward Social Science Departments, the Center is open to all UW faculty, staff & students for use of computing resources and non-credit classes, including how to use SAS, SPSS, and ArcGIS.
Provide expert help in data management, programming tools, cloud computing, data storage and more.
Fisheries Acoustics Research
includes a range of research topics and scientific endeavors using acoustical devices as sensors in aquatic environments.
Incorporated Research Institutions for Seismology (IRIS)
"A university consortium sponsored by the National Science Foundation that is dedicated to the operation of scientific facilities for the acquisition, management, and distribution of freely available seismic data."
Land Surface Hydrology Research Group
Links to locally maintained data librarys as well as information about processing various data sets. "(M)ain research interest is modeling and predicting the role of land hydrology in the climate system, and understanding the nature of hydrologic variability and change as they are related to changing climate and land cover/land use."
Office of the Washington State Climatologist
"This web site provides links to sources of climate data and seasonal forecasts for the state of Washington."
Polar Science Center
A unit of the Applied Physics Lab, the Polar Science Center conducts basic and applied research on the oceanography, climatology, meteorology, biology and ecology of earth's ice-covered regions.
ResearchWorks is a permanent, safe service for providing access to articles, technical reports, datasets, images and other file types produced at the University of Washington by faculty and researchers.
Washington State Geospatial Data Archive
Site that contains geospatial data for the state of Washington. This site also contains selected non-Washington geospatial data sets that have been created by students and researchers at the University of Washington. Go to the GIS Lab
for help with digital geospatial data that can be used to make maps when used with GIS software.
General Climatological Data
Annual Climatological Summary
An annual summary of monthly temperature means, departures from normal and extremes (participating locations), heating & cooling degree data, and precipitation totals, departures from normal and extremes. A monthly tally of rain days, snow days and days within selected temperature thresholds is also included. [UW restricted]
Monthly editions contain station daily maximum and minimum temperatures and precipitation, monthly summaries for heating and cooling degree days. Some daily snowfall, snow depth, evaporation, and soil temperature data. July issue also contains monthly heating degree days and snow data for the preceding July through June. Annual issue contains averages of data for the year. [UW restricted]
Comparative Climatic Data for the United States
The Comparative Climatic Data (CCD-2018) tables of meteorological elements outline the climate conditions at major U.S. weather observing stations, Puerto Rico, and the Pacific Islands. ASCII formatted files of the data can be downloaded here: https://www1.ncdc.noaa.gov/pub/data/ccd-data/
Local Climatological Data
"A monthly summary from major airport weather stations that includes a daily account of temperature extremes, degree days, precipitation and winds. Also included are the hourly precipitation and abbreviated 3-hourly weather observations. " [UW restricted]
Historical Climate Data
Paleoclimatology Data Search
Paleo data come from natural sources such as tree rings, ice cores, corals, and ocean and lake sediments-- and extend the archive of weather and climate back hundreds to millions of years.
U.S. Historical Climatology Network
High-quality data set of daily and monthly records of basic meteorological variables from 1218 observing stations across the 48 contiguous United States.
World Climate Data
Global Temperature and Precipitation Maps
Worldwide temperatures and precipitation are illustrated by maps. Monthly and annual temperatures and precipitation, including extreme temperatures, are presented in tabular form for approximately 800 stations throughout the world.
Monthly Climatic Data for the World
Monthly issues contains monthly mean temperature, pressure, precipitation, vapor pressure, and sunshine for approximately 2,000 surface data collection stations worldwide and monthly mean upper air temperatures, dew point depressions, and wind Velocities for approximately 500 observing sites. [UW restricted]