Physics and Astronomy: Article Databases & Indexes
Resources for beginning research in Physics and Astronomy, including databases, pre-prints, journals, and websites.
Databases & Indexes
A variety of databases, primarily indexes to articles in journals or conference proceedings, are available through the UW Libraries, but are often UW restricted. Items in the databases are not necessarily held in the UW Libraries. If UW holdings are not given, check the UW Libraries Catalog.
UW Restricted. EV2 INTERFACE. Indexes and abstracts for articles from journals and conferences in the physical sciences, electrical engineering, and computer science. Includes Physics Abstracts. Updated monthly.
UW Restricted Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, with searchable author abstracts and cited references, covering over 5000 major journals in the sciences. Cited reference search allows searching forward and backward in time.
References to astronomical literature, from 1899 to 1968 based on the printed bibliography 'Astronomischer Jahresbericht'(AJB), and from 1969 to mid-2000, based on the printed bibliography 'Astronomy and Astrophysics Abstracts' (AAA).
UW Restricted Includes Compendex & Inspec for journal abstracts and links to full-text, US Patent Office for patent information, CRC Press handbooks for technical engineering information, and Industry Specs and Standards from Techstreet.
Searches peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Note: Does not include all academic publishers.
AIP's Index to more than one million documents from scholarly journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and other special publications from prestigious scientific societies and technical publishers.