Research Guides
Human Centered Design & Engineering: Find Articles
Databases for Additional Research in HCDE
- Communication Source This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Index to journal articles, books, newspaper stories and other sources in the field of communication. [UW restricted]
- CompendexIndex to research literature in all areas of engineering. [UW restricted]
- ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to research literature in education, including writing and technical writing. [UW restricted] - IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text IEEE and IET journals and conference proceedings, and current IEEE standards. [UW restricted] - Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics. Coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical, and geographical linguistics. [UW restricted] - MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. [UW restricted] - PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to research literature in psychology. [UW restricted] - Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to research literature in sociology and related disciplines. [UW restricted] - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to scholarly journal articles in the Sciences, Social Sciences, and Arts and Humanities. Cited reference searching is also available. [UW restricted]
- More Article & Research DatabasesLinks to hundreds of UW Restricted databases in all subject areas.
How to Tell if a Journal is Peer-Reviewed
- Ulrich's Periodicals DirectorySearch for the title of the journal and look for the "Refereed" (Peer-Review) symbol. [UW restricted]
- Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database ranks journals by "Impact Factor," a measure of how many times articles in the journal have been cited. [UW restricted]
Which databases are most useful for your research in HCDE?
ACM Digital Library: 7 votes (36.84%)
IEEE Xplore: 3 votes (15.79%)
Inspec: 0 votes (0%)
Google Scholar: 8 votes (42.11%)
Academic Search Complete: 1 votes (5.26%)
ERIC: 0 votes (0%)
PsycINFO: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 19