Research Guides
Speech and Hearing Sciences: Books
Background Sources
- Dictionary of Communication DisordersDefines disorders, communication aids, and relevant technology. Each definition includes references.
- Encyclopedia of Special EducationCompilation of information on the education of those with special needs. Includes terms such as articulation disorders, language disorders, voice disorders, and more.
- The handbook of phonetic sciencesCovers the biological foundations of speech and hearing such as brain functions underlying speech, organic variation of the vocal apparatus, auditory neural processing, articulatory processes as well as chapters on theoretical and applied areas.
- The Blackwell companion to phonologyCase studies and current issues in phonology, statistical and experimental techniques, and interdisciplinary connections such as those with the social and computational sciences.
- A Dictionary of AudiologyAuthoritative and detailed entries define and describe essential terms relating to hearing, balance, and related disorders.
- Encyclopedia of Language Development
This link opens in a new window
Covers the breadth of theory and research on language development from birth through adulthood, as well as their practical application. - The SAGE Deaf Studies EncyclopediaCovers international Deaf culture and history, sign language and linguistics, political science, the arts, and other aspects of Deaf studies.
UW Libraries Search
Tips for searching for Speech & Hearing books and ebooks
- By Keyword - Try a basic keyword search using Library of Congress Subject Headings without punctuation. Try or modify the below sample search strings:
- Articulation disorders case studies
- Audiology case reports
- Communication disorders etiology
- Deafness congenital
- Hearing disorders diagnosis handbooks manuals
- Speech Therapy
- Browse - Use the Browse option to browse by author, title, subject, or LC call number. Note: results are limited to physical items held by the UW Libraries.
- By Title - search for a specific book by title. Type in the first few words of the book title in quotations. For example: "Speech Sound Disorders".
- By Author - search for books written by a specific author. Type in the last name followed by the first name of the author in quotations. For example: "yorkston kathryn".
To eliminate book reviews and articles, use the "Resource Type" options on the left toolbar of the results screen to limit your results to books and ebooks.
Note the library name and call number -- you need this information to locate the book.