Marine Sciences: Dissertations & Theses

This is a guide to research in marine sciences, which includes marine policy, coastal ecology, and pollution.

At the UW

ResearchWorks Archive at the UW
Full text dissertations completed at UW. Full coverage from 1997-2008 and 2012 - present; sporadic coverage prior to 1997.
UW Libraries Search - Advanced Search
Search for hard copies of dissertations & master's theses written at the UW. Prior to 2012, not all master's theses were submitted to the Libraries collection. As of 2012, no hard copy dissertations or theses will be added to the collection. Many will be available via ResearchWorks Archive or Proquest Dissertations & Theses.

Search by author: Change the drop-down to "author/creator"

Search by title: Change the drop-down to "in the title"

Search by subject or department: Change the drop-down to "in subject"; use the heading "theses" followed by the department:

Search by topic: Use the keywords search and combine the phrase "theses and" followed by a topical keyword(s):

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
More than 2 million full-text dissertations. For those dissertations not available in full-text, submit an interlibrary loan request to get a printed copy.

Global Electronic Thesis and Dissertation Search
Search approximately 4 million theses from more than 200 universities worldwide

Dissertations of China (in Humanities and Social Sciences) 中国学位论文全文数据库 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Master’s theses, Doctoral and Post-Doctoral dissertations from Chinese research institutions from 1980 onward.