CIESIN works at the intersection of the social, natural, and information sciences, and specializes in on-line data and information management, spatial data integration and training, and interdisciplinary research related to human interactions in the environment.
U.S. National Aeronautics and Space Administration NASA Earth Observations. Provides global satellite imagery for data related to oceans, atmosphere, and land surfaces.
U.S. National Aeronautics and Space Administration Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center. Focuses on human interactions in the environment and supports the integration of socioeconomic and earth science data.
United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization. Provides access to interactive maps, satellite imagery, and related spatial databases maintained by FAO. This data relates to agriculture, forestry, fisheries, and food security.
World Wildlife Fund Hydrological Shuttle Elevation Derivatives at Scales. Provides regional and global hydroshed images, data (vector and raster), and maps.
Canada Open Maps
Open Maps provides access to the Government of Canada’s geospatial information. You can combine, visualize, and analyze geospatial data.
GeoGratis
Canadian government GIS repository provided by the Earth Sciences Sector of Natural Resources Canada. Contains both physical and human geography datasets, vector and raster, for free. Most files are in Interchange Format (e00).
GeoBC Data Catalogue
Access to BC Government datasets, applications, and web services.
British Columbia GIS Open Data Portal
The Commission provides public access to spatial and non-spatial data that supports oil and gas operations in the province of British Columbia.
Mexico
INEGI
INEGI, responsible for regulating and coordinating the National System of Statistical and Geographical Information, collects and disseminates information on variety of topics for Mexico.
EU EEA Data and Maps
European Union European Environment Agency. Provides data related to developing, adopting, implementing, and evaluating environmental policy.
United Kingdom
Open Geography Portal
UK's Office for National Statistics provides free and open access to geospatial data.
AfricaMap
Based on the Harvard University Geospatial Infrastructure (HUG) platform, and was developed by the Center for Geographic Analysis to make spatial data on Africa easier for researchers to discover and explore.
Africa GeoPortal
ESRI hosted open mapping community with geospatial data provided by ESRI, other users, and Africa focus organizations.
openAFRICA
Volunteer-driven independent repository of open data on African continent.
Central Africa
CARPE Open Data Portal
USAID provided collection of spatial data related to conservation activities within the Congo Basin.
East Asia
ChinaMap
Harvard-based map of China supported with data from Weatherhead Center for International Affairs, Fairbank Center for Chinese Studies, Social Explorer, and China Data Center - powered by WorldMap.
Korea Open Data Portal
Data provided by Korean Ministry of Land Infrastructure and Transport National Geography Information Institute
Solargis
Solar resource maps for East Asia and Pacific, licensed by The World Bank.