Skip to main content
Research Guides

Commonly Cited Standards

AASHTO-ACI-AHRI-ASHRAE-ANSI-ASME-ASTM-AWS-DISA-ETSI-
IEC-IEEE-ISO-ITU-MIL

NACE-NFPA-NEMA-NISO-NIST-NSSN-OSHA-SAE-UL
 

AASHTO (American Association of State Highway & Transportation Officials)
The American Association of State Highway & Transportation Officials (AASHTO) is a nonprofit, nonpartisan association representing highway and transportation departments in the 50 states, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico. It is the only national public sector association that represents all five transportation modes: air, highways, public transportation, rail and water. Its primary goal is to foster the development, operation and maintenance of an integrated national transportation system.

Some of the major AASHTO publications which include standards are:

ACI (American Concrete Institute)
The American Concrete Institute (ACI) serves the various components of the concrete industry. It has about one hundred technical committees, and the documents produced by these committees are arranged into five groups in the six-part Manual of Concrete Practice (MCP) (Engineering Library Reference, TA681.A64)  which includes almost all of the Institute's codes, standards, and committee reports including 318-08: Building Code Requirements for Structural Concrete and Commentary. They include research and administration, materials and properties of concrete, design and construction practices, structural analysis, and special products and processes.

AHRI (Air-Conditioning, Heating, & Refrigeration Institute)
The Air-Conditioning, Heating, and Refrigeration Institute (AHRI) is a voluntary, nonprofit organization comprised of the manufacturers of air conditioning, refrigeration, and heating products. The more than 60 standards now published are mainly performance-rating standards, although some are application or terminology standards. Many AHRI standards are accepted as American National Standards.

ASHRAE (American Society of Heating, Refrigerating, and Air-Conditioning Engineers)
ASHRAE, the American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers is an international organization of 50,000 persons with chapters throughout the world. The Society is involved with research, standards writing, continuing education and publications.

ASHRAE now offers free read-only access to some of their standards. Find what is available for free (These standards are read-only and can not be downloaded.)

Search for "ASHRAE handbook" in the UW Libraries Search to see the various ASHRAE manuals held in the UW Libraries.

ANSI (American National Standards Institute)  is the national coordinator of voluntary standards activities in the U.S. ANSI approves and publishes standards after they are developed by various engineering, industry and professional groups. ANSI is the U.S. representative to the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) and the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC). ANSI does not produce standards.

ANSI Incorporated by Reference (IBR) Portal
The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Incorporated by Reference (IBR) Portal provides a one-stop mechanism for access to standards that have been incorporated by reference in the U.S. Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). These standards incorporated by the U.S. government in rulemakings are offered at no cost in “read only” format and are presented for online reading. There are no print or download options.

ASME (American Society of Mechanical Engineers)  produces standards related to piping, fittings, cranes, elevators, screw threads, and other areas of interest to ASME. The ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code is a well known publication. This code is comprised of 11 volumes and is located in the Engineering Library Standards area on the 1st floor at call number: TJ290 .A514.

ASTM  was originally known as the American Society for Testing and Materials. ASTM International is one of the largest voluntary standards development organizations in the world. ASTM develops technical standards for materials, products, systems, and services. ASTM Standards have an important role in the information infrastructure that guides design, manufacturing and trade in the global economy.

The UW Libraries has access to these standards online: ASTM Standards & Engineering Digital Library. (UW Restricted).

The UW Libraries also has the Annual Book of ASTM Standards in print back to 1970. 

The publication date is indicated by the last two digits in the standard number. For example: ASTM D2426-06 was last revised in 2006. 

AWS (American Welding Society)
The American Welding Society (AWS) works to advance the science, technology, and application of welding and related joining disciplines. AWS has published more than 140 standards under the guidelines of the American National Standards Institute. Search AWS in the UW Engineering Library Standards Database to see what welding standards the Library holds.

DISA (Data Interchange Standards Association)
DISA serves as the Secretariat for ASC X12 and their X12 EDI and XML standards development process.

ETSI (European Telecommunications Standards Institute)
European Telecommunications Standards Institute provides a searchable catalog on their webpage.

IEEE Standards are developed by the IEEE Standards Association. The UW Libraries provides access to these standards in full-text online at the IEEE Xplore Digital Library (UW Restricted). 

Included also are the Interpretations of IEEE Standards, which provide answers to questions that may arise related to the meaning of portions of an IEEE standard concerning specific applications. Interpretations explain and clarify the intent of the standard; they do not constitute an alteration to the original standard or supply consulting information.

ASSIST: the Department of Defense Military Specifications, Standards and Related Publications
ASSIST is the official source for specifications and standards used by the Department of Defense (MIL-STDs & MIL-SPECs).

NACE (National Association of Corrosion Engineers)
Develops and disseminates surface preparation standards and other standards relevant to the Corrosion Industry.

NEMA (National Electrical Manufacturers Association)
The National Electrical Manufacturers Association is the trade association through which the electrical industry develops and promotes positions on standards and government regulations.

NFPA (National Fire Protection Association)
The NFPA advocates scientifically-based consensus codes and standards, research, and education for fire and related safety issues. NFPA offers free read-only access to their codes and standards. They do require you to create a free account in order to view the documents. (These standards are read-only and can not be downloaded.)

NISO (National Information Standards Organization)
The National Information Standards Organization (NISO) develops and promotes technical standards used in a wide variety of information services. NISO Standards are available for free on the NISO website.

NIST (National Institute of Standards & Technology)
NIST's primary mission is to promote U.S. economic growth by working with industry to develop and apply technology, measurements, and standards.

NSSN (National Standards Systems Network)
The National Standards Systems Network (NSSN) is an electronic network that links the standards systems of the hundreds of organizations involved in the development, production, distribution, and use of technical standards and provides searching capabilities to the entire range of national, regional and international standards and standards-related information. Powered by ANSI.

OSHA (Occupational Safety and Health Administration)
"Regulations and Compliance Links provides a comprehensive and easy to use resource for current OSHA standards and compliance-related information. Not all interpretations which have been issued by OSHA are included on "Regulations and Compliance Links".  OSHA maintains a  searchable database of OSHA Regulations.

SAE International (Society of Automotive Engineers) publishes new, revised, and reaffirmed standards each year in three categories: Ground Vehicle Standards (J-Reports); Aerospace Standards; and Aerospace Material Specifications (AMS). 

The UW Engineering Library has the SAE Ground Vehicle standards (J-Reports) which are included in the SAE Handbook on CD-ROM located at call number TL151 .S62. For other SAE Standards search the Engineering Library Standards Database. For SAE Standards information, search the SAE Standards database but online access to standards is not available at the UW Libraries.

Underwriters Laboratories (UL)
UL is involved in the U.S. Safety System, developing the UL Mark symbol of safety. UL's activities involve evaluating more than 16,500 different types of products for safety hazards, developing standards to test products, and registering the quality systems of organizations worldwide to various quality standards, including ISO 9000 and QS-9000 standards. UL maintains a catalogue of their standards, but there is no online access.

The UW Engineering Library has a print collection of historical UL standards. Search for UL in the Engineering Library Standards Database to see which ones.

International Standards Organizations

IEC (International Electrotechnical Commission)
The IEC prepares and publishes international standards for all electrical, electronic and related technologies. Explore the IEC technical publications on their site. Search our database to see the IEC standards in our collection.

ISO Online
The International Organization for Standardization (ISO) is a non-governmental organization established in 1947.The ISO 9000 family of standards for quality management is a well known ISO product. The UW Libraries does not collect very many ISO standards. Check the Engineering Library Standards Database to see what ISO standards are in the Library.

The mission of ISO is to promote the development of standardization and related activities in the world with a view to facilitating the international exchange of goods and services, and to developing cooperation in the spheres of intellectual, scientific, technological and economic activity. ISO maintains a searchable online catalogue of international standards. First time users may want to read the tutorial on how to use the catalogue. 

ITU (International Telecommunications Union)
The International Telecommunication Union (ITU) is an international organizationwhich provides global telecommunication standards. ITU-T Recommendations (standards), form the foundations of the information and communications technologies of today. Download over 3000 ITU-T Recommendations for free.