Research Guides
- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- UW Libraries
- British Literature - 19th Century
- Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
British Literature - 19th Century: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Suzzallo Library has many reference resources--specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries & bibliographies--that are devoted to British literature, history, and culture. These resources are valuable for providing background information that can help you narrow your research topic. The bibliographies provide lists of additional resources, ranging from key scholarship on a particular author or literary period, to finding poems or reviews in older journals and magazines. All resources below are located in Suzzallo Reference (1st floor) unless otherwise noted.
Literary Encyclopedias & Biographies
- The Encyclopedia of Victorian Literature (Wiley, 2015) - [UW restricted]
- British Writers (15 vols.), PR 85 .B688
- Cambridge History of English Romantic Literature [UW restricted]
- The Cambridge Companion to the Victorian Novel (CUP, 2012) PR871 .C17 2012
- Dictionary of British Literary Characters: 18th- and 19th-Century Novels, PR830.C47 D5 1993
- Dictionary of National Biography-[UW restricted]
- Nineteenth Century British Poets (Dictionary of Literary Biography, vols. 96 & 110), PN41 .D484 1978
- Encyclopedia of the Novel (2 vols.), PN 41 .E487 1998
- English Literature 1789-1818 (Oxford History of English Literature vol. 9), PR 83 .O93
- English Literature 1815-1832 (Oxford History of English Literature vol. 10), PR 83 .O93
- English Literature 1832-1890 (Oxford History of English Literature vol. 11), PR 83 .O93
- Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature - [UW restricted]
- The Stanford Companion to Victorian Fiction, PR771 .S8 1989
Historical Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
- Europe 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World (6 vols., D 209 .E97 200) - [UW restricted]
- Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment (B 802 .E53 2003) - [UW restricted]
- Daily Life in Victorian England - [UW restricted]
- Historical Dictionary of London, DA 677 .P33 2001
- London Encyclopedia, DA 677 .L66 1983
- Oxford Companion to British History (DA 34 .O93 1997) - [UW restricted]
- Readers Guide to British History, DA 34 .R43 2004
- Victorian Britain: An Encyclopedia, DA550 .V53 1988
- Women in World History: A Biographical Encyclopedia (17 vols.), HQ 1115 .W6 1999
Lewis Carroll
Bibliographies
- Annals of English Verse, 1770-1835: A Preliminary Survey of the Volumes Published, Z2039.P6 J32 1985 (Suzzallo Stacks)
- The New Cambridge Bibliography of English literature, Z2011 .C35 1969
- Romantic Poetry by Women: a Bibliography, 1770-1835, Z2013.5.W6 J33 1993