Skip to Main Content
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Suzzallo Library has many reference resources--specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries & bibliographies--that are devoted to British literature, history, and culture. These resources are valuable for providing background information that can help you narrow your research topic. The bibliographies provide lists of additional resources, ranging from key scholarship on a particular author or literary period, to finding poems or reviews in older journals and magazines. All resources below are located in Suzzallo Reference (1st floor) unless otherwise noted.
Literary Biographies & Encyclopedias
Historical Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
- Historical Dictionary of London, DA 677 .P33 2001
- London Encyclopedia, DA 677 .L66 1983
- Oxford Companion to British History (DA 34 .O93 1997) - [UW restricted]
- Readers Guide to British History, DA 34 .R43 2004
- Encyclopedia of Contemporary British Culture, DA589.4 .E53 1999
- Women in World History: A Biographical Encyclopedia (17 vols.), HQ 1115 .W6 1999
- Twentieth-century Britain : an Encyclopedia, DA566 .T835 1995
- James Joyce Checklist - The James Joyce Checklist is a database of citations and links to publications relevant to Joyce in any language and in any medium, from the early twentieth century to the present. The Checklist is an ongoing project sponsored by the Harry Ransom Center and Penn State Libraries with both current and retrospective material being added on a quarterly basis.
- Modern England, 1901-1970, Z2020 .H38
- The New Cambridge Bibliography of English literature, Z2011 .C35 1969
- English Literary Journals, 1900-1950 : A Guide to Information Sources, Z2005 .S73 1982