Skip to Main Content
Association of American University Presses Directory
Call Number: Z475 .A88, Suzzallo Reference
"Formally established in 1937, AAUP promotes the work and influence of university presses, provides cooperative marketing opportunities, and helps its 130+ member presses fulfill their common commitments to scholarship, the academy, and society. AAUP members are active across many scholarly disciplines, including the humanities, the arts, and sciences, and are innovators in the world of electronic publishing."
The library has a number of current publishers directories. Below is a selection. Use the catalog to look for additional directories.
Call Number: Z282 .B65, Suzzallo Reference
Exhaustive coverage of 30,000 U.S. and Canadian publishers, distributors and wholesalers. Organizations profiled represent a broad spectrum of interests, including major publishing companies; small presses (in the traditional, literary sense); museums and societies in the arts, science, technology, history, and genealogy; divisions within universities that issues special publications in such fields as business, literature and climate studies; religious institutions; corporations that produce important publications related to their areas of specialization; government agencies; and electronic and database publishers.
Literary Market Place
Call Number: PN161 .L5, Suzzallo Reference
LMP lists more than 30,000 US and Canadian book and periodical publishing companies. Find publishers of a particular subject and/or type of publication. It is the resource consulted by those looking for industry data--whether they are publishing professional, authors, industry watchers, or those seeking to gain entry into the world of publishing.
Publishing in Rhetoric and Composition. by
Call Number: PE1405.U6 P83 1997, Suzzallo/Allen Stacks
Writer's Market. Cincinnati: Writer’s Digest, 1937-.
Call Number: PN161 .W83, Suzzallo Reference
"Over 9,000 listings for book publishers, literary agents, magazines, online publications, contests, conferences and more."
Directory of Small Press & Magazine Editors & Publishers
Call Number: PN4820 .D57, Suzzallo Reference
The definitive small press directory to the men and women who run the small presses including self-publishers. This directory contains listings of editors and publishers in alphabetical order, along with their associated publishing companies, their addresses, phones, e-mail addresses and Web pages. Includes self publishers.
International Directory of Little Magazines & Small Presses
Call Number: Z6944.L5 F8, Suzzallo Reference
"Lists almost 4,000 book and magazine publishers of literary, avant garde, cutting-edge contemporary, left wing, right wing and fiction to non-fiction essays, reviews, artwork, music, satire, criticism, commentary, letters, parts of novels, longpoems, concrete art, collages, plays, news items and more."
The Literary Press and Magazine Directory
Call Number: PN2 .D57, Suzzallo Reference
For writers of fiction, poetry, or prose, this is the essential source for expanding any would-be author's publishing horizons. Entries on independent book publishers, literary magazines, and online literary journals provide all the information necessary to get one's work into print: journal and press descriptions, submission guidelines, contact names and addresses, and circulation figures.