Research Guides
How to Publish Your Article in the Humanities: Finding a Journal
Information on finding journals in your research area, determining which are the best ones to submit your article, and how to locate submission guidelines.
How to Identify Potential Journals
STEP 1: Go to the UW Libraries' research guides and identify a database that focuses on your specific discipline. For instance, if your article pertains to Spinoza, see the Philosophy research guide under "Articles & E-Journals" to locate the Philosopher's Index.
STEP 2: Search the database to identify journals that publish in your area. Ex: search Philosopher's Index using "Spinoza" as a source/publication title. This will find journals devoted specifically to Spinoza (Revista Conatus: Filosofia de Spinoza.) Or, search by keyword or subject terms for your topic to find journals that are a good fit for that subject: "Spinoza AND god" (Journal for the History of Philosophy). Most databases will show results based on publication. Pick the titles that have published the most articles on your topic.
STEP 3: Once you've identified possible journals, learn more about each journal and its submission guidelines. You can do this by:
- Using a periodicals directory (MLA Periodicals Directory or Ulrichs)
- Using Google to find the journal's webpage. Most provide submission guidelines on their webpage.
Periodicals Directories
- Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive list of periodicals that includes publisher contact information for each title, whether a journal is refereed, a description of content and available features (book reviews, theater reviews, etc.).
- MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MLA focuses on language and literature, but it also contains journals on film studies and folklore. Keyword searches are usually the best way to identify journals. Entries include a description of content, publisher contact information, submission guidelines, and whether or not the journal is peer reviewed.
- Directory of Open Access JournalsOpen access journals are journals that use a funding model that does not charge readers or their institutions for access. The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content.
Undergraduate Journals
- Council on Undergraduate Research - Journals ListThe mission of the Council on Undergraduate Research is to support and promote high-quality undergraduate student-faculty collaborative research and scholarship.