Skip to main content
Research Guides

Southeast Asian Studies Collection Guide: Support SE Asia Collections

This guide describes the current strengths of the Southeast Asia collection, collection priorities and consortial information resources

Gifts of Materials

Make a Cash Gift

Explore Giving Opportunities that Support the Southeast Asia Collection

The Southeast Asia Section is working with Libraries Advancement on two exciting recent acquistions and the creation of a strong endowment to support general collection needs:

Adrian Cowell

1.  The Adrian Cowell Film Archive: a collection of some 800 reels of archival film produced by British film-maker Adrian Cowell for two television series he produced in the 1960s and 1970s on the Southeast Asian drug trade.  His footage includes unique interviews with drug warlords and minority army leaders operating in the Burma border region, as well as footage documenting US congressional efforts to control the drug trade out of the Golden Triange region.  The Libraries is seeking support to preserve the collection and make selections available digitally for classroom use.

Robert R. Jones, III - Rochester
2.  The Robert Jones III Collection on Indochina: a book collection of over 3,000 volumes from a private collector who worked at the U.S. Embassy in Saigon during the 1960s and 70s.  The collection includes an extaordinary range of materials daring from the 1930s to 70s, including an extensive corpus of journals published in Saigon.  It also includes rare first editions of literary works, both in Vietnamese and French, from these periods.
Julie Forbush 3. The Southeast Asia Section also welcomes contributions to the Forbush Southeast Asia Endowed Library Fund, established in the name of Julie Forbush, an independent scholar of Thailand who worked closely with the Libraries and the Southeast Asia Center, and whose estate funded the endowment.

Recent Activities of the Southeast Asia Section

Report of an Acquisitions Trip to Southeast Asia, 2020

Judith Henchy recently documented her incredible trip to SE Asia that coincided with the early stages of the pandemic in Cambodia, Myanmar and Vietnam. Despite the strenuous conditions and restrictions beginning to take hold, Judith was able to conduct most of her intended business, speaking at the American Embassy on US research libraries and making purchases of many new materials such as 60 new documentary films and more than 40 rare books including an exceptional find about former UW student activist Nguyen Thai Binh.  The report is available below.

Hliang Hliang Gyi, Director of the Universities Central Library,

assists with book purchases in Yangon, Myanmar.

 

 

Hlaing Hliang Gyi, Director of the Universities Central Library assists with book purchases in Yangon