African History: Get Started
Recommended Reference Collections
If you're looking for some alternatives to Wikipedia, try searching for information in these collections of reference books. You'll be able to check facts and learn context for any number of topics.
- Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A searchable collection of encyclopedias and other references sources. - Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A searchable collection of encyclopedias and other references sources.
African Diaspora
Encyclopedia of the African Diaspora: origins, experiences, and cultureAvailable online and in print
UW Tacoma Library Reference
DT16.5 .E53 2008 v. 1-3
The authoritative source for information on the people, places, and events of the African diaspora, spanning five continents and five centuries.
Africa and the Americas: : culture, politics, and history Available online
This encyclopedia explores the many long-standing influences of Africa and people of African descent on the culture of the Americas, while tracing the many ways in which the Americas remain closely interconnected with Africa.
Encyclopedia of the middle passage Summary: Considers the Middle Passage and the experiences of the slaves on these trans-Atlantic from a variety of perspectives.
Africa
Encyclopedia of African history Available online
Over 1,000 entries covering topics on the whole continent of Africa from earliest times to the present.
Encyclopedia of African History and CultureAvailable online and in print
UW Tacoma Library Reference
DT3 .P27 2005 v.1-5
Covers the history of Africa up the 19th century, with entries on locations, countries, individuals, peoples, concepts, events, plants, and animals, and include many cultural references.
New Encyclopedia of Africa Available online
Addresses the entire history of African cultures from the pharaohs and the ancient civilizations of the south through the colonial era to the emergence of 53 independent countries, some of them newly emergent in world commerce and others deep in conflict.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of World Popular Culture: North Africa and the Middle East Available online
Explores the popular interests of countries in North Africa and the Middle East, offering critical insight into the influence of regional pop culture on contemporary societies over the past century.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of World Popular Culture: Sub-Saharan Africa Available online
Explores the popular interests of countries in Sub-Saharan Africa, offering critical insight into the influence of regional pop culture on contemporary societies over the past century.
