Literature: Book Reviews
(Literature in the English language)
Reviewing Publications of Renown
- New York Times Book ReviewFull text coverage from 1/19/1997 to present; indexing available for earlier years.
Current Book Review Resources
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A collection of popular and scholarly publications with a lot of full-text. Contains book reviews from publications from popular magazines and newspapers. To limit search to book reviews, scroll down under 'Search Options' to find 'Document Type'. Under 'Document Type' select 'Book Review'. - Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A good source for locating literary reviews.
Older Book Review Resources
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A rich source of book reviews from scholarly journals with date ranges from the current day to the 1800's. To limit search to book reviews, check the box for 'Reviews' under the 'Item Type' column. - Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Because Project Muse is a full-text collection of humanities/social sciences journals (and ebooks), reviews are included. Go to the advance search and limit to "reviews."
Tips for Searching
Look for search limit options in the database or publication of 'Review' or 'Book Review'.
Start with the title of the book in quotations - "Pride and Prejudice".
If you need to narrow your search further, add the author's name - "Pride and Prejudice" And Austen.
If you have an obscure title and aren't finding anything, you may need to try some other book review resources.