TCRIM 435 Terrorism and the American Criminal Justice System: Web Resources

The Office coordinates "national strategy to strengthen protections against terrorist threats and attacks in the United States." Provides access to activities & programs, publications, and laws & regulations.

The mission is to neutralize terrorist cells and operatives here in the U.S., to help dismantle extremist networks worldwide, and to cut off financing and other forms of support provided by terrorist sympathizers. Includes reports, cases and incidents, terrorists and fugitives, and threats.

NCTC serves as the primary organization in the U.S. government for integrating and analyzing all intelligence pertaining to terrorism possessed or acquired by the U.S. government (except purely domestic terrorism). Provides information on known terrorist groups and individual terrorists, reports, speeches and testimony, and legislation.

Funded by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security, CREATE develops advanced tools to evaluate the risks, costs and consequences of terrorism. Provides research, publications and reports.

Funded by the Department of Homeland Security, START informs decisions on how to disrupt terrorists and terrorist groups through empirically-grounded findings on the human element of the terrorist threat. Includes research, publications, reports and data. Key data collections include Global Terrorism Database, Profiles of Perpetrators of Terrorism in the United States (PPT-US), and Terrorist Organization Profiles.

The Office coordinates all U.S. Government efforts to improve counterterrorism cooperation with foreign governments. Includes reports, Global Counterterrorism Forum documents, and Terrorist Designation Lists.

News, opinions on questions of law, and legal information on topics including consumer protection, community safety, and government accountability.

Brookings is a nonprofit public policy organization. Reports examine some of the challenges the Obama administration faces in grappling with the legal issues Guantánamo raises.

TRC is "a non-profit entity to continue the mission of raising public awareness on terrorism related issues and establish a knowledge-base of security related research and analysis."

Includes systematic data on international and domestic terrorist events around the world since 1970 (currently updated through 2010). For each GTD incident, information is available on the date and location of the incident, the weapons used and nature of the target, the number of casualties, and -- when identifiable -- the identity of the perpetrator.

Updated regularly. Includes detailed information on organizations known to have engaged in terrorist activity against targets on the U.S. homeland between 1970 and 2010. Data included for each organization includes information on its terrorist attacks, its history and base of operations, its ideology and goals, its engagement in political and criminal activities (other than terrorism), its alliances, its network and structure, and its financial resources. PPT-US includes information on the source used to code each variable in the data set, and also includes a confidence indicator for each variable (high v. medium v. low), which reflects the reliability of the source upon which coding was based.

Last updated March 1, 2008. Provides background information on more than 850 organizations that have been known to engage in terrorist activity around the world during the last four decades. Included for each organization is information on bases of operations, organizational strength, ideology, and goals.

This update examines recent developments in statutes used to prosecute terrorists in federal court, evolving case law clarifying the scope of the government’s military detention authority, the application of legal rules to protect classified information, and developments on other issues such as the Miranda rule, evidentiary issues, sentencing, and safety and security within the federal prison system.

The Center on Law and Security at NYU School of Law is an independent, nonpartisan institute. The Terrorist Trial Report Card, (TTRC) is a full examination of post 9/11 federal terrorism prosecutions, and a close review of the U.S. legal record against terror. Each year, the Center updates the TTRC and publishes its findings. The TTRC provides statistical analysis and comprehensively outlines the charges, convictions, plea bargains, and sentencing of the alleged terrorists.