Skip to Main Content

Cybersecurity: Ethics & Policy

Start with Background research

Begin by doing some background research about your topic, and find the names of any relevant laws and policies pertaining to that topic. Then iterate your search by incorporating the policy name in your search. 

For example, if you are researching the "right to be forgotten," you will want to find out about the General Data Protection Regulation of the European Union passed in 2016, as well as the prior Data Protection Directive enacted in 1995. These policies may then become a part of your research, as you build an argument for US policy. 

Exploring public policy issues & ethics

CQ Researcher reports allow you to explore policy perspectives and implications as technology changes over time.
Example reports:
  • Internet and Technology (Short report). June 15, 2017
  • Privacy and the Internet (Full report). February 9, 2018
  • Big Data & Privacy (Full report). October 25, 2013
  • Internet Privacy (Full report). November 6, 1998
  • Wiretapping and Bugging (Archive report - older format). April 5, 1967
  • Surveillance of Spying (Archive report - older format). February 29, 1956
Search thousands of subject specific encyclopedias to explore topics from different perspectives.  
Example titles:
  • Encyclopedia of Social Media and Politics
  • Encyclopedia of Cyber Warfare
  • Encyclopedia of Social Deviance
  • Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications
  • Ethics, Science, Technology, and Engineering: A Global Resource
  • Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics
  • Encyclopedia of Gender and Information Technology
  • Last Updated: Oct 9, 2024 4:46 PM
  • URL: https://guides.lib.uw.edu/Cybersecurity
  • Print Page
Subjects: Computer Science