Geospatial Resources : Data: National
General Federal Data Resources
- Data.GovA federal metadata repository that serves as the primary resource for data discovery at national, state, and local scales.
- National Historical Geographic Information SystemProvides aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the US from 1790 - 2014.
Federal Agency Data Resources
- BLM GeoCommunicatorU.S. Bureau of Land Management. Provides bureau-wide and state-specific geospatial metadata for energy and rangelands.
- CDC GIS DataU.S. Centers for Disease Control. Links to public health and related geospatial data at both the national and international level.
- EPA EJSCREENU.S. Environmental Protection Agency Environmental Justice Screening and Mapping Tool. Provides geospatial analysis tools for environmental, demographic, and justice indexes.
- NOAA National Centers for Environmental InformationU.S. National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. Provides oceanic, coastal, atmospheric, and geophysical data.
- NOAA Office of Coast Survey GISU.S. National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. Provides raster navigational charts.
- NPS Data Store and ClearinghouseU.S. National Park Service. Provides metadata for national parks throughout the U.S. and its territories.
- USDA Geospatial Data GatewayU.S. Department of Agriculture. Provides natural resource, agriculture, and imagery data (requires up-to-date java).
- USGS Data and Tools OverviewU.S. Geological Survey Data and Tools home page. Select "Data and Tools Topics" to filter by field of study (e.g. Biology and Ecosystems, Geology, Oceans, etc). Select "GIS Data" to access mapping information from all topics.
- USGS Climate Adaption Science Centers Data and ToolsA comprehensive guide to climate data, ecosystem vulnerability assessments, and climate adaptation databases and tools.
- USGS CMGP usSEABEDU.S. Geological Survey Coastal and Marine Geology Program. Provides data on sediment and rock distributions as well as seafloor characteristics for waters off the U.S. coast.
- USGS EarthExplorerU.S. Geological Survey. Provides satellite images, aerial photographs, and other cartographic products.
- USGS EROS CenterU.S. Geological Survey Earth Resources Observation and Science Center. Provides aerial photography and digital orthophotography, elevation data (NED, DEMs, GTOPO30, etc), satellite imagery (ASTER, SRTM, SIR-C, NALC, etc), and land cover data (NLCD, LULC, GLCC, etc).
- USGS The National MapU.S. Geological Survey. Provides elevation, hydrography, geographic names, boundaries, transportation, structures, and land cover data as well as orthoimagery.
Alternative Access: Federal Data
Federal government websites are frequently changed with a new presidential administration. Not typical, however, is data removal. Below are alternative access points for federal data that has been removed from official sources.
- Alternative Access: Federal Data: Guide with links to various data recovery projects and databases.
-
Public Environmental Data Partners: Access to a number of federal environmental data sources
-
Census Reporter: Tool for accessing the American Community Survey (ACS).
More U.S. data sites
- The DataWebA partnership of various federal agencies covering census, health, economic, income, crime, transportation, etc. data
- USDA Geospatial Data GatewayNatural resource, agricultural and imagery data. Note: requires up-to-date java
- National Park Service Data Store & ClearinghouseData for national parks throughout the U.S. and its territories
U.S. Vector Data
Base datasets for the United States supplied by ESRI in the Maps and Media package.
United States Based Vector Datasets
