Geospatial Resources : Data: International

The finest resolution global population distribution data and related metrics available, represents ambient population (average over 24 hours).

CIESIN works at the intersection of the social, natural, and information sciences, and specializes in on-line data and information management, spatial data integration and training, and interdisciplinary research related to human interactions in the environment.

U.S. National Aeronautics and Space Administration NASA Earth Observations. Provides global satellite imagery for data related to oceans, atmosphere, and land surfaces.

U.S. National Aeronautics and Space Administration Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center. Focuses on human interactions in the environment and supports the integration of socioeconomic and earth science data.

Provides economic, social, science, and education data for the European Union.

European Union European Environment Agency. Provides data related to developing, adopting, implementing, and evaluating environmental policy.

United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization. Provides access to interactive maps, satellite imagery, and related spatial databases maintained by FAO. This data relates to agriculture, forestry, fisheries, and food security.

Based on the Harvard University Geospatial Infrastructure (HUG) platform, and was developed by the Center for Geographic Analysis to make spatial data on Africa easier for researchers to discover and explore.

Harvard-based map of China supported with data from Weatherhead Center for International Affairs, Fairbank Center for Chinese Studies, Social Explorer, and China Data Center - powered by WorldMap.

Canadian government GIS repository provided by the Earth Sciences Sector of Natural Resources Canada. Contains both physical and human geography datasets, vector and raster, for free. Most files are in Interchange Format (e00).

Open Maps provides access to the Government of Canada’s geospatial information. You can combine, visualize, and analyze geospatial data.

Download country level data for any country in the world: administrative boundaries, roads, railroads, altitude, land cover, population density.

World Wildlife Fund Hydrological Shuttle Elevation Derivatives at Scales. Provides regional and global hydroshed images, data (vector and raster), and maps.

Near real time earth observation resources

Compiled list of data sources