THIST 150: World History, Prehistory - 1500: Getting Started
What is a tertiary source?
A tertiary source gives a brief "bird's eye view" overview of a historic event, person, place, or movement. These are often written by scholars and can range from a few sentences to a page in length. They are helpful for:
- Getting a basic understanding of a topic
- Exploring a topic and discovering more specific directions you might go in
- Understanding the timeline and context of an event or movement
Tertiary sources include:
- Encyclopedias
- Dictionaries
Recommended reference sources
- Gale Virtual Reference [UW restricted]A searchable collection of encyclopedias and other references sources.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full text dictionaries, encyclopedias, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press. - Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Off-campus access temporarily requires use of Husky OnNet. Primary documents, essays, images, maps, and timelines depicting daily life around the world and throughout history
World History EncyclopediaISBN: 9781851099290Publication Date: 2011-03-23An unprecedented undertaking by academics reflecting an extraordinary vision of world history, this landmark multivolume encyclopedia focuses on specific themes of human development across cultures era by era, providing the most in-depth, expansive presentation available of the development of humanity from a global perspective. Well-known and widely respected historians worked together to create and guide the project in order to offer the most up-to-date visions available. A monumental undertaking. A stunning academic achievement. ABC-CLIO's World History Encyclopedia is the first comprehensive work to take a large-scale thematic look at the human species worldwide. Comprised of 21 volumes covering 9 eras, an introductory volume, and an index, it charts the extraordinary journey of humankind, revealing crucial connections among civilizations in different regions through the ages. Within each era, the encyclopedia highlights pivotal interactions and exchanges among cultures within eight broad thematic categories: population and environment, society and culture, migration and travel, politics and statecraft, economics and trade, conflict and cooperation, thought and religion, science and technology. Aligned to national history standards and packed with images, primary resources, current citations, and extensive teaching and learning support, the World History Encyclopedia gives students, educators, researchers, and interested general readers a means of navigating the broad sweep of history unlike any ever published.
