TLIT 200 Understanding Literature - Liner: Get Started
Recommended Reference Books (Online)
If you're looking for some alternatives to Wikipedia, try searching for information in these collections of reference books. You'll be able to check facts and learn context for any number of topics.
- Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & CriticismThe JH Guide presents a comprehensive historical survey of the field's most important figures, schools, and movements. It includes more than 240 alphabetically arranged entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.
- Literature Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database emphasizing English and American poetry, drama and prose, literature journals, author biographies, and critical essays. - Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text encyclopedias in all subject areas - Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text dictionaries, encyclopedias, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press. - Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full text online access to the complete 250-plus volumes of Cambridge Histories reference series, including 19 devoted to literature, language and theatre
Selected Reference Books
- Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Oxford English Dictionary is the ultimate authority on the usage and meaning of English words and phrases, and a fascinating guide to the evolution of our language. It traces the usage, meaning and history of words from 1150 AD to the present day.