Research Guides
Our goal is to have a focused collection of materials of interest to business undergraduate and graduate students and faculty. As programs at the Foster School of Business evolve and change, we may find that certain materials no longer fit program needs.
Primary emphasis is on 20th and 21st century materials that support the study and practice of business management.
Most materials focus on national and international business with some emphasis on Pacific Northwest companies and industries and Pacific Rim commerce and economy.
With rare exceptions, the collection includes only English-language materials.
Books, e-books, print and online periodicals, and research databases primarily comprise the collection.
Financial data sets are generally not collected by the Libraries. The Foster School of Business procures data sets and administers access for tenure-track faculty and PhD students.
We welcome gifts of books that are within collection scope, but we will not consider textbooks, periodicals, or corporate filings. We defer historic materials gift offers to Special Collections.
On the Seattle campus, print business materials are primarily located in the Foster Business Library and Odegaard Undergraduate Library. Related and specialty business collections may also be found in Suzzallo-Allen and throughout the branch libraries (Gallagher Law, Built Environments, Engineering, and Music, for example).
The libraries at UW Bothell and UW Tacoma also actively collect business materials that often duplicate Seattle business collection priorities. Though Seattle tends to collect more scholarly business materials, all three campuses acquire materials with professional and practical applications.
Online databases and e-books are available to UW students, faculty, and staff through the UW Libraries website. Business Research Guides highlight some of the of the most used online business sources.
Bloomberg financial terminals are available to UW students, faculty, and staff in the Foster Business Library.