THIST 101 Introduction to History Methods (online) -- Sundermann: Background information
Why use encyclopedias?
- Encyclopedias are great places to look for background information on a topic.
- An encyclopedia article usually provides a good summary of the topic.
- Encyclopedia articles available through the library are often written by experts.
- Encyclopedia articles may also cite other relevant sources of information which may or may not be available in your library.
Online Resources for All Subjects
- Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full text encyclopedias in all subject areas - Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text dictionaries, encyclopedias, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press.
British History
The Oxford Companion to British History [Available online]From the Glorious Revolution to the invention of golf, a comprehensive and authoritative encyclopedia of British history
The Oxford Companion to Black British History [Available online]The Oxford Companion to Black British History is an essential reference for anyone who wants to understand the long and fascinating history of black people in Britain from classical times to the present day. Over 400 entries written by more than 100 specialists.
The Oxford Dictionary of British History [Available online]The Oxford Dictionary of British History covers the people and events that have shaped and defined domestic, political, social, and cultural life in Britain over the past two millennia.
