- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- Tacoma
- TCORE 114 - Blair - The Gothic
- Online articles and Databases
TCORE 114 - Blair - The Gothic: Online articles and Databases
The Gothic in Literature
Gothic Literature: fiction driven by the macabre, fantastic, or supernatural, in exotic settings of castles, ruins, subterranean caverns, and wild landscapes.
"Gothic literature." The Oxford Companion to Shakespeare. : Oxford University Press, January 01, 2015. Oxford Reference. Date Accessed 9 Jan. 2019 <http://www.oxfordreference.com/view/10.1093/acref/9780198708735.001.0001/acref-9780198708735-e-1208>.
Internet Resouces
- British Library: The GothicThe British Library has a collection of articles and essays on elements of the Gothic, key texts, and motifs.
- The Met : Gothic ArtThe Metropolitan Museum of Art's essay on Gothic Art
- The Norton Anthology : The GothicOverview of the Gothic movement in Romantic Literature
- The Poetry Archive : Gothic PoetryClassic and modern Gothic poems ideal for a scheme of work. Use these to explore the Gothic genre, to inspire creative writing and drama.
Popular Articles
- The Paris Review : The Draw of the Gothicarticle by Sarah Perry from Oct 29, 2018
- The Atlantic : How Penny Dreadful Reanimated the Gothic-Horror Genrearticle by Nicholas Slayton from Jun 27, 2014
- Tor.com : What's Gothic Now?article by Alma Katsu from Jun 19, 2012
- Medium.com : The Gothic - an Overview of the Gothic in Literary Studiesarticle by Heather Braun from Apr 25, 2015
The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari
Lobby card from the film : The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari from 1920 - Public domain image
Databases
Below are several groupings of databases that could be helpful.
Art
- Index of Medieval Art This link opens in a new windowInformation on photographic reproductions of Christian art from early apostolic times through A.D. 1400.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Art reference works, biographies, and encyclopedias, including Grove Art Online and Benezit Dictionary of Artists. - International Bibliography of Art This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Definitive resource for scholarly literature on western art.
Literature and Poetry
- Columbia Granger's World of Poetry This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text poems and citations for poems in anthologies, poetry commentaries and biographies of poets. - Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres. - Gale Literary Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Master index to a large set of literary reference sources. Includes literary criticism and biographical information from a wide range of periods and genres. - Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of poetry, drama and prose, literature journals, author biographies, topic overviews, and critical essays. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books in all disciplines.
Film
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of humanities & social sciences electronic journals & 20,000+ ebooks.
Have Questions?
Ask your library staff!
Reference Staff are available to answer questions about using the library and finding resources.
Email: tacref@u.washington.edu
Phone: 253-692-4442 (check hours)
 |
Connect to UW Libraries' real-time, online reference service |