TCOM 254 Communication History - Demaske: Historical Newspapers
A variety of newspapers
Many major newspapers historically wrote for a large readership often assumed to be "mainstream" in its interests and identities. To counter and expand such a limited form of journalism many movements, groups, and communities created their own newspapers to reach, inform, and empower readers not addressed in those "mainstream" papers. Additionally, local and regional audiences varied in their interests and identities with many cities and towns developing their own newspapers. Exploring these historical papers helps students and scholars develop much greater, more complex knowledge of history.
Historical Newspapers
- Tacoma Daily News & News Tribune, 1889-1991There are no available copies of the News Tribune between July 13, 1918 and December 16, 1918
- Chronicling America: WashingtonCollections of online papers at the Library of Congress from the late 19th century and early 10th. Includes the Tacoma Times, 1903-1918.
There were other Tacoma newspapers in the early part of the 20th century. The titles listed below are available in microfilm at both the Tacoma Public Library and the University of Washington Libraries. Many of these titles are reference in the Tacoma Public Library's Building Index
- Morning GlobeUW has: Oct. 22, 1888-May 31, 1889
TPL has: Oct. 22, 1888-May 31, 1889 - Tacoma Daily LedgerUW has: Aug. 7, 1883- Dec. 25, 1925
Continues Tacoma Morning Globe
TPL has: Apr. 7, 1883-June 22, 1937 - Tacoma Evening NewsUW has: June 16, 1899 - June 30, 1902
TPL has:Apr. 2-June 30, 1900, Jan. 1-Mar. 30, 1901, Oct. 1-Dec. 31, 1902, Apr. 1-11, 1903 - Tacoma Morning GlobeUW has: Nov. 1, 1889 - Feb. 29, 1892
TPL has: Nov. 1, 1889 - Feb. 23, 1892 - Tacoma TribuneUW has: Apr. 1912- June 16, 1918,
Incomplete
TPL has: Apr. 12, 1912-June 16, 1918
For additional dates of the titles listed below, search by title of newspaper in Advanced Search in the UW Libraries Search and limit your search to Journals.
- Chronicling America: OregonA small collection of late 19th and early 20th century Oregon Newspapers including the Evening Herald (1908-1922) and the Daily Astorian (1876-1890).
- Chronicling America: WashingtonSmall collection of papers from the late 19th century and early 10th. Includes the Tacoma Times, 1903-1918
- Democratic Standard (Portland)Although there are just a few years available online (1854, 1857-1859), this is an important primary source for early Oregon history.
- Historic Oregon NewspapersA full-image searchable database of Oregon newspapers published between 1860 and 1922.
- Historic Washington NewspapersPapers from Washington Territory.
- Idaho StatesmanJuly 1864-1900.
- Morning Olympian1891-1900. Includes Daily Olympian and Morning Olympian Tribune.
- Seattle Times1900-1984 Page image
1984-date Text only - Seattle Post-IntelligencerDec 1901-1985 Page image
1986-present. Text only
April 1882-1900 included in Chronicling America.
For 1876 to 1882 use microfilm A329 held in the microforms & newspapers collection. - Tacoma Daily News & News Tribune, 1889-to dateTacoma Daily News, 1889 - 6/15/1918
News Tribune, 6/17/1918 - 8/17/1922
Tacoma News Tribune, 8/18/1922-1987
Morning News Tribune, 1988-1991
News Tribune, 1992 to present text only
The range and number of African American newspapers created a vibrant and highly significant impact. The extraordinary work and legacy of the Black press as evidenced in the selective examples below provide a very rich resource for students and scholars.
- African American Newspapers of the 19th century This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Select 19th century African American newspapers.
- African American Experience in Ohio: 1850-1920Newspaper page images, 1843-1923. African American.
- The Afro-American LedgerNewspaper page images, 1906- 1917. African-American.
- Chicago DefenderAfrican American newspaper. African American newspaper. For 1975 to 1996, use Microfilm A4066 (available at Suzzallo Library). For 1999 to present, use Ethnic NewsWatch or for February 2008 to current, use Access World News.
- The Colored Tribune1875-1876
From Japanese Americans imprisoned in U.S. camps to women's rights to labor activists (and many more), sharing ideas, stories, and arguments through journalism remains a vital way for all readers to develop much more informed and accurate understandings of history.
Learn about important moments of history through these historical news resources: Independent Voices (1960s-1990s), Seattle Union Record (started in 1901), The Washington State Teacher (started in 1941), Women's Press (1970-1997), and Alt-PressWatch (1980s-current)
- The Cherokee PhoenixNewspaper by members of the Cherokee Nation, 1828-1834
- Chung Sai Yat PoChinese American Newspaper, 1900-1904
- El Clamor Publico CollectionMexican American newspaper, 1855-1859
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal, magazine, and newspaper articles written primarily by Black, Indigenous, Latinx, Asian & Pacific Islander, and Jewish people, covering 1959-present.
- Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press CollectionA digital collection from the University of Arizona Libraries makes accessible more than 150 years of news coverage documenting Mexicans and Mexican Americans. The collection features 20 significant Mexican and Mexican American publications, many in Spanish, published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.
- Los Angeles Star CollectionEnglish-Spanish language newspaper, 1851-1864.
- Pacific CitizenAsian American newspaper, 1929-1955.
- Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper ProjectMore than one hundred years of Jewish newspapers published in Pittsburgh from the 1890s to 2010.
- 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text 17th and 18th century British newspapers
- Early American Newspapers Series II This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of 50+ newspapers dating from 1736-1900 with most covering the period 1820-1860
- New York Times, 1851-2015For issues published after 2010 see LexisNexis or ProQuest Newspapers.
- Seattle Post-IntelligencerNewspaper page images for Dec 1901-1985 and text only for 1986-present.
April 1882-1900 included in Chronicling America.
For 1876 to 1882 use microfilm A329 held in the microforms & newspapers collection. - Seattle TimesNewspaper page images, 1900-1984
Included within the Readex America's Historical Newspapers collection.
For issues published after 1984, use Access World News. - Washington Post, 1877-1997For issues published after 1997 see LexisNexis or ProQuest Newspapers
- Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press CollectionA digital collection from the University of Arizona Libraries makes accessible more than 150 years of news coverage documenting Mexicans and Mexican Americans. The collection features 20 significant Mexican and Mexican American publications, many in Spanish, published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.
- Meet the Press This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming video archive of the weekly American television news/interview program, 1947-2003. - Newsbank Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text, 1970-1991. Selected coverage of issues and events in American history. UW NetID login is required.
- 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text 17th and 18th century British newspapers - African Newspapers, Series 1 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text African newspapers, 1800 to 1922
- Chinese Newspapers Collection 1832-1953English language newspapers including North China Herald 1850-1941 and Chinese Recorder 1868-1941
- Guardian, 1821-2003 & The Observer, 1791-2003British newspapers: The Guardian and its Sunday partner The Observer
- Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press CollectionA digital collection from the University of Arizona Libraries makes accessible more than 150 years of news coverage documenting Mexicans and Mexican Americans. The collection features 20 significant Mexican and Mexican American publications, many in Spanish, published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.
- Latin American Newspapers, Series 1 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
19th and 20th century Latin American newspapers. Series 1: Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere.
- Times (of London)1785-1985. For issues published after 1985 see Access World News and ProQuest Newspapers.
- Times of IndiaNewspaper page images, 1838-2003.
- South Asian Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of South Asian Newspapers, featuring India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. Languages include English, Bengali, Gujarati, and more. 1864 - 1922. - World Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of historical newspapers from around the world.
- American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
American magazines of the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries, - British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of 18th, 19th and some early 20th century British magazines
- Time Magazine ArchiveTranscriptions to Time magazine articles from 1923-.
- Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digitized, full-color images of every issue of Vogue magazine from 1892 to the present