Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask Us!
University of Washington Libraries

Library Guides

ENGL 131 O: Composition: Exposition: Search Strategy Tips

Research Sequence

Design Search Strategy

Your assignment:
Develop a research paper exploring rituals and norms.

One of the more important processes in conducting research is designing a search strategy. You should use your search strategy when using library search tools/databases.  The following are things to consider in designing your strategy:

  1. Analyze your topic
     
    • You may need to find information in different kinds of sources
      [ Books | Journals | Newspapers | Magazines | Media (images, video, sound recordings)]
     
    • You may need to use more than one library tool (database, etc.)
      [ Some examples: Sociological Abstract | Academic Search Complete | Web of Science]
     
    • You may need to explore a subject over a period of time
      [ For example: 5 years | 20 years | 1960s | 19th Century | 20th Century ]


      It is important to clarify what you are interested in finding out about your topic; familiarize yourself with the key issues and context.  Begin by creating a research question.

    • The question may evolve and change over time. Sometimes using a format to phrase your question helps: I’m studying [Topic] Social Media Impact to investigate [Question] How social media influences attitudes and behavior? in order to understand [Significance/Rationale] the role networking through social media plays into our lives. This structure gives you a way to keep your question narrow, identifying just the area that you are studying. The question usually begins with why/what/how, etc.

       
       
  2. Select Keywords
    • Create a list of Related Terms. Another way to express this, is to create a list of synonyms for the important concepts in or associated with your topic

    • Narrower terms: (Good for limiting your search, excluding irrelevant information, or adding focus to your search)

       
      • Population -gender (men, women), age (children/teens, adults, elderly), groups (artist, educators, clergy, ethnic/racial groups, etc.): 
      • Geography - towns, cities, states, countries, regions:
      • Time Period - current, decade, 20th Century, ancient:

    • Broader terms: (Allow you to explore the broader context of your topic. Good if you're having difficulty finding sources)

  3. Create a Search Query

    Many of our databases or search tools require that you use AND or OR to combine multiple terms/keywords in a search.

    See examples below:

     
    • cultural norms AND social mobility (narrows your search, both terms 'cultural norms' and 'social mobility' must appear)
     
    • blacks OR African-Americans (broadens your search, one of the terms must appear. Good for use with synonyms.)
    •  
    • norms AND (African-Americans OR blacks) (combines connectors AND/OR together in a search)
     
    • Use a technique called truncation with the * symbol to search additional forms of a word when using a search tool or database.

      Example: cultur* will also find culture, cultural, culturally, cultured, cultures.

      ritual AND cultur*

      Be aware that the truncation symbol may vary depending on the database (*,#,?,!) are the most common.

Change Database Language

Some databases allow you to change the language.

Notice the range of language options for this database

Librarian

Profile Photo
Harry Murphy
Contact:

Currently working from home due to COVID

*Office Hours
Zoom appointments only:
Thu 3-5
Fri 9:30-11:00

American Ethnic Studies related Zoom appointments:
Mon 11-Noon
Tue 11-Noon
Wed 11-Noon

Unfamiliar with Zoom?

Phone: 206-616-5296
Skype Contact: hmaurice56

Class Documents

UW Libraries | UW Bothell/CC Campus Library | UW Tacoma Library | Health Sciences Library | Gallagher Law Library
Responsible Use of Electronic Resources | Privacy | Terms