Evidence-based Complementary and Alternative Medicine (CAM)

This book presents a practical introduction and is a reference source for all the major complementary and alternative medicines. Complementary medical treatments are now increasingly popular and the public demand for information and treatment is growing rapidly. It is therefore essential that all pharmacists have good knowledge of the main aspects of complementary therapies as they are meeting more and more patients who want advice and treatment with alternative therapies.This book provides a practical introduction and reference source on the products most frequently requested in community pharmacies and in hospitals. Chapters on other complementary therapies such as massage are also included for information so that pharmacists can give knowledge-based advice to the public.Additionally CAM is now an integral part of every MPharm course in the UK and of the pharmacy degree course in the USA. The previous edition has been adopted by universities both in the UK and the USA. Indeed in the UK, this is an essential textbook that includes all aspects of CAM covered in the MPharm degree.

Authoritative, objective and in tune with the subjects that matter to students and researchers, The Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine presents unbiased information on alternative and complementary medical practices. Covering all aspects of the subject, the Encyclopedia identifies and explains the many types of alternative medicine being practiced today, from acupuncture to yoga. Nearly 750 entries are included in the Encyclopedia covering therapies, diseases/conditions and herbs/remedies. Full color photographs appear throughout, including those depicting the various plants and herbs from which many alternative medications are derived.

Stay on the cutting edge of today's most promising trends in complementary and alternative medical treatments with Dr. David Rakel's Integrative Medicine, 4th Edition. Written by physicians who are experts in both traditional and integrative medicine, this highly regarded, evidence-based reference covers therapies such as botanicals, supplements, mind-body, lifestyle choices, nutrition, exercise, spirituality, and more. Integrative Medicine, 4th Edition uses a clinical, disease-oriented approach, offering practical guidance for reducing costs and improving patient care. Helps you safely and effectively incorporate complementary and alternative therapies into your everyday practice, while focusing on prevention and wellness for a better quality of life. Uses the reliable SORT method (Strength of Recommendation Taxonomy) to provide evidence-based ratings, grading both the evidence and the relative potential harm. Explains how to make the best use of integrative medicine and the mechanisms by which these therapeutic modalities work, keeping you at the forefront of the trend toward integrative health care. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, videos, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Includes 13 brand-new chapters, covering hot topics such as personalized medicine, MTHFR mutation, food allergy and intolerance, the gut-immune influence on systemic inflammation and disease, chelation therapy, testosterone deficiency, adrenal fatigue, and much more. Features more than 100 significantly revised chapters and hundreds of new figures and tables throughout. Provides online access to new multiple-choice questions for every chapter, perfect for board exam review - plus downloadable Patient Education Guides and video collections.