Library Resources Overview
Getting full text of articles
Gain access to recommended databases, electronic journals & books, and help guides. Follow UW purple icons to full text articles, from PubMed and other databases. Important: Link to PubMed from the HSL website to see UW article icons.
Order articles that UW doesn't own, through the UW Libraries article scan service.
Journal literature databases
Biomedical sciences and public health
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Premier health sciences/public health journal database. Use UW-specific PubMed which includes links to full text journal articles available through the HSL.
~ For more information see PubMed at the UW - EMBASE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biomedical and pharmaceutical journals and conference proceedings - Global Health (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Global public health research and practice, including abstracts of journals, reports, books and conferences.
Multidisciplinary databases
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citation index for the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
HSL Toolkits and Subject Guides
To discover recommended databases by subject area, see HSL toolkits:
- Public Health Toolkit
links to additional resource pages for environmental health, nutrition, health policy & administration
Global Health Toolkit - Global Health Database, WHO Global Health Library search platform for regional/country indexes
Care Provider Toolkit - DynaMed, Natural Standard, UpToDate: topic summaries that reference key articles on clinical topics.
Visit the UW Libraries Research Guides for key resources in Environment, Public Policy, Engineering, and other areas.
Finding Funding, and Publishing
- Grant Resources
Resources to help identify grants available, identify collaborators, and get started with writing proposals. - Writer's Guide
Collection of resources for writing & citing with links to style guides, citation management tools, copyright, open access & scholarly publishing.