ENGL 199H / HSERV 100: Library databases & techniques for literature reviews
Sources for background reading and overviews
- MedlinePlusAuthoritative information from the National Library of Medicine to help answer your health questions. Compiles quality information from many reputable sources
- Care Provider ToolkitSee center section "Diagnosis & Therapy" for ClinicalKey, UpToDate, DynaMed and AccessMedicine ebook collections. In right column, Natural Medicines for alternative therapies, and more Patient Education resources.
Look for information on websites of known organizations that are working in your area of interest (Examples: Gates Foundation for malaria. Centers for Disease Control for US public health topics. Kaiser Family Foundation for health services and health insurance research)
- Think Tank SearchA Google Custom Search of more than 590 think tanks and research centers.
*Always check the "about us" section of any think tank or research center to help discern any political leanings. - Finding ebooks at UWTips for searching for ebooks in the UW Libraries collection
- eNewspapersThis guide recommends resources for finding information in the news. Includes Access World News database.
Multidisciplinary databases
UW Libraries Search
Enter relevant keywords into UW Libraries Search to look for articles or books on your topic, for example:
social media and mental health
sleep and sports performance
workplace hazards mobile technology
Use Refine My Results "Resource Type" filter to limit to ebooks or book chapters, or articles.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowScholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles.
See help for accessing articles from off-campus through Google Scholar. - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowScholarly articles and general interest sources in all fields.
Health sciences and other subject-specific databases
For more about searching PubMed, see PubMed at the UW
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowArticles in sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Citation index (view how many times an article is cited by other authors).
To find recommended databases for different disciplines, see Research Guides on the UW Libraries home page, or individual library websites (Business, Law, etc.) and Toolkits on the Health Sciences Library website.
