Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Washington Health Sciences Library

Network of the National Library of Medicine (NNLM)

UW HSL serves as the Regional Medical Library for NNLM Region 5, providing programs, services, and dedicated support for members in Alaska, California, Hawaii, Nevada, Oregon, Washington, and U.S. Territories and Freely Associated States in the Pacific

 

 

The Network of the National Library of Medicine (NNLM) provides outreach for the National Library of Medicine (NLM). The National Library of Medicine, the world's largest biomedical library, is one of the many institutes which make up the National Institutes of Health (NIH) based in Bethesda, MD. 

The goal of the NNLM is to advance the progress of medicine and improve public health by providing U.S. health professionals with equal access to biomedical information and improving individuals' access to information to enable them to make informed decisions about their health.

Seven Health Sciences Libraries function as the Regional Medical Library (RML) for their respective region. The RMLs coordinate the operation of a Network of Libraries and other organizations to carry out regional and national programs. The RMLs ensure a continuity of quality service for core programs of the NNLM, and cooperatively design, implement and evaluate innovative approaches to serve the health information needs of health professionals and a diverse public. 

Additionally, there are three National Offices and three National Centers, which serve all members in all seven regions.

The 3 National Offices include:

The 3 National Centers include:

The overall program is coordinated by the NLM’s Office of Engagement and Training (OET). Further the National Network Steering Committee (NNSC), composed of OET and representatives from each RML, the NNLM National Offices, and NLM staff implements common operational and evaluation processes for the RMLs and NNLM National Office programs they coordinate.

NNLM Region 5

The University of Washington Health Sciences Library serves as the Regional Medical Library (RML) for Region 5, which provides programs, services, and dedicated support for NNLM Members in Alaska, California, Hawaii, Nevada, Oregon, Washington, and U.S. Territories and Freely Associated States.

Keep in touch!

Email:

Contact Region 5 staff via email nnlm@uw.edu

Call:

Call us at 206-543-8262

If we are unable to answer your call, please leave a detailed message and we be in touch.

Website

  • On the NNLM website you can find health information resources, register for classes, and more
  • Visit the Region 5 webpage for content specific to Region 5

Region 5 News Listserv

Subscribe to the Region 5 listserv to receive the latest news and announcements from Region 5 about educational and funding opportunities and the NNLM Region 5 Weekly Digest

Social Media

Membership

A collaboration of members, the Network is comprised of academic health sciences libraries, hospital, pharmaceutical and other special biomedical libraries, public libraries, information centers and community-based organization.  Benefits of Network membership include a certificate of recognition, training opportunities, eligibility for project funding, tools to support your organization's document delivery services, emergency preparedness planning and response, and partnerships with other NNLM members. The outreach efforts of the NNLM assure that researchers, health professionals, the public health workforce and the public are aware of and have access to quality health information available from NLM and the NNLM.

If your organization is interested in becoming a member of the NNLM, please email Emily Hamstra. It's free! 

Funding Opportunities

NNLM offers funding for projects that improve access to health information, increase engagement with research and data, expand professional knowledge, and support outreach that promotes awareness and use of NLM resources in local communities.

Funding for Region 5 is announced on both the Region 5 blog and the Region 5 News Listserv. Sign up for the listserv to receive these announcements. 

Timing for funding can be quick so consider planning ahead. 

Have an idea but unsure of applying? Send us an email or call us at 206-543-8262.  We're happy to help!

Training

NNLM offers a variety of online, on-demand and in-person training opportunities to support professional development and continuing education for librarians, educators, and health professionals. View and register for upcoming training opportunities, view recordings of  past webinars, search the class catalog, and create an individual account to keep track of your training. All training is free. Visit the NNLM Training webpage

If your organization is seeking an in-service or training opportunity regarding health literacy, consumer health, NLM resources such as PubMed, data management, or other health information related topic, please contact Carolyn Martin 

The Medical Library Association provides specializations in Consumer Health Information, Data Services, and Disaster Information. Many of NNLM classes provide eligible CE towards these specializations. 

Resources

The National Library of Medicine (NLM) provides a number of resources to researchershealthcare professionals, librarians, and the general public, at no cost. Here is just a few of the popular resources.

PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally. The PubMed database contains more than 32 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. It does not include full text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources, such as the publisher's website or PubMed Central (PMC).

MedlinePlus is a consumer-oriented health information resource. It contains carefully selected links to online resources with authoritative health information on a broad range of health topics. In addition, drug, supplement and herbal information, genetics, medical tests, as well as interactive tutorials and games can aid the general public to become better informed health consumers.

ClinicalTrials.gov is a web-based resource that provides patients, their family members, health care professionals, researchers, and the public with easy access to information on publicly and privately supported clinical studies on a wide range of diseases and conditions. ClinicalTrials.gov contains information about medical studies in human volunteers. ClinicalTrials.gov does not contain information about all the clinical studies conducted in the United States because not all studies are required by law to be registered.

Bookshelf is an online searchable collection of free online books, documents, and other scholarly literature in life science and healthcare.

Drug Information Portal covers drugs from the time they are entered into clinical trials (Clinicaltrials.gov) through their entry in the U.S. market place (Drugs@FDA). Information includes, a summary of the drug’s type and usage is given, as well as links leading to further information at one of the portal’s resources. 

History of Medicine Collections and Exhibits collects, preserves, makes available, and interprets for diverse audiences one of the world’s richest collections of historical material related to health and disease. Spanning ten centuries, encompassing a variety of digital and physical formats, and originating from nearly every part of the globe. The award-winning Exhibition Program, which develops onsite special displays, graphic traveling banner shows that tour the world, and online K–12 and higher education resources which together advance public awareness about medicine, science, and history. Exhibitions and special displays focus on a variety of topics which explore the relationship between medicine and the arts, science and society, patients and practitioners, and the technology of medicine.

In addition to NLM resources, the NNLM provides a variety of guides, toolkits, resources and more to help in serving your communities with health information. Visit the NNLM Guides and Resources webpage.

Data Science and Data Management

The NNLM supports access to biomedical and health information with the goal of making data discoverable, accessible, and citable. NNLM RD3: Resources for Data-Driven Discovery has been developed to foster learning and collaboration in data science. In order to support sharing, curating, and annotating biomedical data, NNLM RD3 serves as a resource for librarians, library students, information professionals, and interested individuals to learn about and discuss: library roles in data science; fundamentals of domain sciences; emerging trends in supporting biomedical research.

Visit the NNLM Data Science / Data Management Guides to access resources and learn more about NNLM and data.

Your Region 5 contact for data related questions is Nancy Shin

Health Sciences Library | 1959 NE Pacific Street, T334 Health Sciences Building, Box 357155, Seattle, WA 98195-7155 USA, 206-543-3390 | Privacy | Terms
CC BY-NC 4.0 Text on this page created by UW Libraries is licensed under a CC BY-NC 4.0 license. Images and video are not included. See details.