Library Guides: SOC W 501 Poverty & Inequality: Reports

Reports: United States

USAID Development Experience Clearinghouse
Search more than 50 years of USAID-funded technical assistance and program documentation

How the U.S. Census Bureau Measures Poverty
This site includes Poverty Data Tables, Poverty Data Tools, and Poverty Datasets
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) Poverty Guidelines
The guidelines are issued each year in the Federal Register by the Department of Health and Human Services. The guidelines are a simplification of the poverty thresholds for use for administrative purposes—for instance, determining financial eligibility for certain federal programs.
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) Case Studies Series
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) Homelessness Assistance

Reports: International

Atlas of Sustainable Development Goals 2018
The World Bank presents maps, charts, and stories related to the 17 Sustainable Development Goals. It discusses trends, comparisons, and measurement issues using accessible and shareable data visualizations.
ELDIS
Eldis provides free access to relevant, up-to-date and diverse research on international development issues. Our database includes over 50,000 summaries and provides free links to full-text research and policy documents from over 8,000 publishers. Each document is selected by members of our editorial team at the Institute for Development Studies in Brighton UK.

You can search for the information you need according to key development topics and the country they relate to. Key topics include Poverty, Gender, Nutrition, Climate Change, Agriculture, Environment, Education, Children and Young People, Health Systems, and Humanitarian and Emergency Assistance.
Gapminder project
This Swedish foundation is committed to fighting ignorance about important global development topics. Try the Gapminder Test - 13 questions - and see how well you do!
United Nations Development Programme Human Development Reports
The Human Development Index (HDI) is a summary measure of average achievement in key dimensions of human development, including health, longevity, education, and standard of living (measured by gross national income per capita).
World Bank Open Data
You can pull reports on many countries, organized by economic indicators, life expectancy, school enrollment, poverty, and CO2 emissions.
The World Inequality Report
The World Inequality Lab aims to promote research on global inequality dynamics. Its core mission is to maintain and expand the World Inequality Database. It also produces inequality reports and working papers addressing substantive and methodological issues.
In addition to the year-round updates to the database and working papers, the World Inequality Lab publishes the World Inequality Report every two years. The objective is to highlight new findings and research analysis emanating from the database, and to draw implications for the global inequality debate. The World Inequality Report aims to become the reference global report on inequality and to attract extensive coverage in the international media. The first edition - the World Inequality Report 2018 - was released in December 2017.

Surveys of Income

Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates (SAIPE), US Census Bureau

This program provides single-year estimates of income and poverty for all U.S. states and counties as well as estimates of school-age children in poverty for all 13,000+ school districts.

Bureau of Economic Analysis: Regional Economic Accounts

The regional economic accounts tell us about the geographic distribution of U.S. economic activity and growth. The estimates of gross domestic product by state and state and local area personal income, and the accompanying detail, provide a consistent framework for analyzing and comparing individual state and local area economies.