Nursing Student Tools

• Nurse Toolkit
• APRN / DNP Toolkit
• Care Provider Toolkit
• Community Health Nursing
• Gerontology: Advanced Practice Nursing

American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN)

AACN Membership Directory
Directory of Nursing Schools Maintained by the AACN.

Testing & Education Reference Center
Free registration. Contains NCLEX-PN and NCLEX-RN practice test.

NCLEX-RN Prep
Khan Academy

Getting Started with Library Resources

Connect to UW Restricted Resources from Off-Campus
Using the proxy service.

Document Services Order Form
Order books or copies of articles delivered to you -- no charge for current students, unless RUSH request.

Mobile Resources
Provides links to resources and apps for mobile devices

• CIPCT (Clinical Informatics and Patient-Centered Technologies)
• Finding Research Articles in PubMed and CINAHL
• NCLIN: Case Scenario
• NSG 561 Community Health Systems for Equity: Library Resources
• NURS 303 Foundations of Professional Nursing: Library Resources
• NURS 415 Nursing of Families Childbearing and Childrearing: Finding and Identifying Research
• NURS 560 Dynamics of Community Health Practice: Library Resources

Welford C, Murphy K, Casey D. (2011) Demystifying nursing research terminology. Part 1. Nurse Researcher. 18, 4, 38-43.

Welford C, Murphy K, Casey D. (2012) Demystifying nursing research terminology: Part 2. Nurse Researcher. 19, 2, 29-35.

Melnyk BM, Fineout-Overholt E,et al. Evidence-based practice: step-by-step. 12 article series in American Journal of Nursing which overviews EBP for nurses.

• PubMed at the UW
  PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's database of citations to biomedical literature going back to the early 1950's. Read this web page to learn how to search PubMed and watch the brief videos for visual search samples. Flash required
• CINAHL Complete: Nursing & Allied Health (HSL help guide)
  CINAHL Complete provides citations from 1937 to the present of the literature in nursing and allied health disciplines.
• EndNote Help Page
  Tip sheet for using EndNote Basic to manage citations and format bibliographies.
• RefWorks Information
  Help page on using RefWorks, an online citation database to manage citations and format bibliographies.
• Basic Introduction to Evidence-Based Practice Resources
  Introduction to finding evidence-based literature online.
• Measurement Tools/Research Instruments Help Guide
  How to find information about measurement instruments and tips on how to get copies of them.

• AMA Style Guide and AMA Manual of Style
• APA Style Guide and APA Style Guide to Electronic References
• Center for Statistics and the Social Sciences (CSSS)
  Statistical consulting service.  Enquire at csss-consult@stat.washington.edu
• Free Computing Workshops
  Offered by UW Learning & Scholarly Technologies (LST) to UW students and employees.
• ResearchWorks Institutional Repository
  Deposit your dissertations, theses, capstone projects, articles, technical reports, datasets, images, and other file types. No charge to you and makes your work available to others.

Plagiarism Prevention: A UW Resource Guide (UW Libraries)

Academic Integrity and Plagiarism Prevention Resources (UW Bothell Library)