Library Guides: Environmental Health & Occupational Health Toolkit: Home

Key Resources

DynaMedex This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Clinical medical reference tool for diseases, disorders, symptoms, treatments, and Micromedex's evidence-based drug information.
This platform will be undergoing maintenance from approximately 3pm to 4pm PST Monday September 30, 2024. It is possible you may get logged out during this time; if this happens please log back in.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Major index to articles covering all aspects of medicine.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citation index for the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
National Library of Medicine's citation database of biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Food, nutrition, agricultural economics, environmental and occupational health, animal sciences. Includes AGRICOLA, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management), and EIS (Environmental Impact Statements) databases.

ASTM Compass
- This link opens in a new window
Engineering standards, reports & articles in biomedical, chemical, environmental, health and safety, and industrial disciplines.

BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of research journals focused on the biological, biomedical, ecological, and environmental sciences.

Climate Change and Human Health Literature Portal
An integrated, curated bibliographic database of global peer-reviewed research and gray literature on the science of climate impacts on human health.

EMBASE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biomedical international database with strong focus on drugs and pharmacology, medical devices, clinical medicine.
JSTOR Sustainability This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journals, ebooks, and research reports in the field of sustainability. Climate change policy, environmental education, food security, resource economics, urban development, and more.

OTSeeker
Systematic reviews and randomized controlled trials on occupational therapy interventions.

PubChem This link opens in a new window
Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations, etc.

Toxicant and Disease Database
Summarizes links between chemical contaminants and human diseases or conditions.

SciFinder This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to Chemical Abstracts databases.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database with searchable cited references.

CDC's National Environmental Public Health Tracking Network
Health and environmental data from national, state, and city sources on environments and hazards, health effects, and population health.
Department of Ecology Databases
State of Washington
EPA Data
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency data.
EPA Region 10: Pacific NW
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency news and information regarding Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, Washington, and 271 Tribal Nations.
EPA EJScreen
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's Environmental Justice Screening and Mapping Tool.
Statistics Sources: Health Sciences
UW HSL guide to sources for local, state, national and international statistics and data.
National Library of Medicine Data Distribution
Access to bulk downloading of datasets including ChemIDplus, GENE-TOX, HSDB, etc.

Knovel Books
Ebooks in environmental, food, and pharmaceutical sciences, and industrial safety & hygiene subject areas.
Dissertations and Theses at UW
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Index to dissertations and theses from all fields of study.
Think Tank Search
Grey literature search engine from Harvard Kennedy School Library and Knowledge Services
Beyond Pesticides
The National Occupational Research Agenda (NORA)
Partnership addressing critical issues in workplace safety and health.
NTIS & NTRL
U.S. government-sponsored research and worldwide scientific, technical and engineering business-related information.
Sightline Institute
Independent, nonprofit environmental research and communications center.

U.S. & Global E-Newspapers
UW guide to accessing subscription news through UW subscriptions.
Toxic-Free Future
News from Toxic-Free Future, a national nonprofit research and advocacy organization.

DynaMedex This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Clinical medical reference tool for diseases, disorders, symptoms, treatments, and Micromedex's evidence-based drug information.
This platform will be undergoing maintenance from approximately 3pm to 4pm PST Monday September 30, 2024. It is possible you may get logged out during this time; if this happens please log back in.
TERIS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Expert guidance on the pregnancy risks of medications and other environmental exposures including infections and vaccines.

Environmental Health and the U.S. Federal System : Sustainably Managing Health Hazards
2019 ebook.
Chemical Hazards Emergency Medical Management (CHEMM)
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Administration for Strategic Preparedness and Response (HHS ASPR).
Emergency Response Guidebook
2020 ebook. U.S. Department of Transportation, Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration (USDOT/PHMSA) guidebook for first responders during the initial phase of a transportation incident involving dangerous goods/hazardous materials.
Hazardous Materials Release
Department of Homeland Security resource on hazardous materials preparedness, response, and recovery.
CAMEO Chemicals
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) / Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) database of hazardous chemical datasheets.
NIOSH Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards (NPG)
General industrial hygiene information for hundreds of chemicals/classes.
ATSDR ToxProfiles
Peer-reviewed compilation of toxicological information on given hazardous substances.

Bioengineering Research Guide
UW guide to researching bioengineering including laboratory protocols, drug information, etc.
Chemistry-Chemical Information Research Guide
UW guide to researching chemistry including drug and chemical compound information, American Chemical Society (ACS) publications, etc.
Aquatic and Fishery Sciences
UW guide to researching and understanding aquatic and fishery sciences.
Environmental Health & Justice Guide
NNLM guide to Environmental Health & Justice.

School of Public Health Orientation
Guide to getting started at the UW School of Public Health.

Health Sciences Library Liaisons