A selection of Lushootseed related collections in the UW Ethnomusicology Archives:

• Vi Hilbert collection, 1950-2005 | Abstract: Upper Skagit elder Vi Hilbert donated her personal research collection of 2416 audio and video recordings to the UW Ethnomusicology Archives in March 2005; the collection includes recordings made by Vi Hilbert and others between the 1950s and 2005.

• Vi Hilbert collection: Lushootseed tapes, Undated | Abstract: Tapes of Lushootseed songs transferred from the University of Washington Language Learning Center at the request of Vi Hilbert.

• Pam Cahn recordings (Lushootseed), 1982-1984 | Abstract: Recordings by Pam Cahn documenting events and activities involving Upper Skagit elder Vi Hilbert, 1982-1984.

• Thomas M. Hess field recordings (Lushootseed), 1961-1979 | Abstract: Recordings made during linguistic field research in Puget Sound area mainly between 1961 and 1975; also language instruction tapes and misc.

• Vi Hilbert collection (CARTAH), 1996-1997 | Abstract: Collection of materials related to Vi Hilbert's work with CARTAH (Center for Advanced Research Technology in the Arts and Humanities), University of Washington, 1996-97; transferred from DXARTS (formerly CARTAH) in July 2011.

• David Cort recordings: Vi Hilbert, 2005 | Abstract: David Cort and Vi Hilbert's work on stories told by her father, Charley Anderson; includes translating of stories from English to Lushootseed.

• Yoder/Rudine Collection, Undated | Abstract: Recordings from the Vi Hilbert VHS collection of Janet Yoder and Robert Rudine.

• Vi Hilbert recordings: Sharing Legends at Upper Skagit, 1985-03-25 | Abstract: Event organized by Vi Hilbert, featuring storytellers from 7 Coast Salish tribes; recorded at the Upper Skagit Tribal Center, March 25, 1985.

• Vi Hilbert Collection - The Healing Heart, 2006-05-20 | Abstract: Video recordings of events related to the performance of "The Healing Heart of the First People of This Land," composed by Bruce Ruddell (commissioned by Vi Hilbert), performed by the Seattle Symphony May 20, 2006.

• Janet Yoder recordings: Interviews with Vi Hilbert, 1990-2008 | Abstract: Interviews with Vi Hilbert conducted by Janet Yoder at the Hilbert home in Seattle (1990) and Bow (2003, 2004), Washington. 

A complete listing of Lushootseed related collections in the Ethnomusicology Archives can be found here. 

Archival collections about or referring to Lushootseed in UW Libraries Special Collections: 

• Vi Hilbert papers, 1916-2002 | Abstract: Papers of a translator, transcriptionist, and teacher of the Lushootseed language and traditional stories

• Paul T. Barthmaier papers, 1997 | Sound cassette recordings of beginning encounters with speakers of the Lushootseed language on the Tulalip and Swinomish Indian reservations in Washington State; list of tapes, final research report; 1997

• Laurence C. Thompson papers, 1935-2014 | Abstract: Papers of Laurence C. Thompson and M. Terry Thompson relating to the study of languages, particularly Salishan languages.

• Melville Jacobs papers, 1918-1978 | Abstract: Papers, audio recordings, speeches and writings of an author, anthropologist, folklorist and former UW professor of anthropology and linguistics

• Washington Women's Heritage Project records, 1900-2000 | Abstract: Organizational material, correspondence, financial records, reports, exhibit/program development files, tape-recorded interviews, log of telephone calls, photographs, clippings, poster, oral history audio tapes and ephemera for a statewide grant project focused on women's lives in Washington State

• Olympia property ledger books, 1892-1910 | Abstract: Ledger books relating to property around Olympia, Washington

• Simon Ottenberg papers, 1985-2021 | Abstract: Papers of a University of Washington professor of anthropology

• Portraits photograph and engraving collection, approximately 1851-1999 | Abstract: A collection of portraits mainly of individuals from the Pacific Northwest and Alaska but also includes some famous figures such as presidents, explorers and political leaders

• Early photographers collection, 1860-1943 | Abstract: The work of photographers, primarily in the Pacific Northwest and Alaska but including other locations, from approximately

• Nile Thompson papers, 1971-2012 | Abstract: Nile Thompson's linguistic and anthropologic fieldwork among the Twana, Puget Sound Salish and Kwagulth.