Home - Bioen 541: Needs Assessment / Clinical Design Skills I - Engineering Information Resources - Library Guides at University of Washington Libraries

Home

Patents

Espacenet (EPO)
Covers millions of patent documents from more than 90+ countries including the United States. Database of the European Patent Office (EPO).
Google Patents
Indexes full-text patent documents from the US, European Patent Office, Canada, China, Germany, and WIPO.
Patent Lens
Open public patent database indexing patent documents from national and regional patent offices. Full-text documents from the US, WIPO, and EPO are available.
USPTO Patent Databases
United States Patent and Trademark Office. US issued patents and patent applications.

SciFinder This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Chemical patent documents and patents in related fields from around the world, in addition to journal articles and conference papers.

UW Libraries Commercialization & Entrepreneurship Research Guide

Engineering Publications

Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Engineering and applied sciences. Combines Compendex and INSPEC databases. Covers journal articles, conference papers, and other publications.
* Compendex: comprehensive and interdisciplinary coverage of all fields of engineering
* INSPEC: focus on physics, electrical engineering, electronics, and computer science and engineering
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and general interest sources in business, medicine, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.
* Industry and market trends, news
* Technology news
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Assocation of Computing Machinery journals, magazines, books, and conference proceedings.
* Computer science and engineering, applications, data science.

ASME Digital Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Journals and conference proceedings from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME).
* Includes biomechanical engineering and biomedical engineering.

ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Engineering standards, journal articles, books, conferences and reports.
* The ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library is a vast collection of standards, test methods, and publications covering a broad range of engineering disciplines, including biomedical engineering, health, and safety.
* Browse by industry sector.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text searchable digital library of IEEE and IET journals, conference proceedings and IEEE standards.
* Transactions, journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and standards in electrical engineering, computer science, physics, bioengineering/biomedical engineering, and related fields.
SciFinder This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Chemical information database covering journals, patents, conference proceedings & technical papers in all areas of chemistry as well as related disciplines, including materials science and biotechnology.
SPIE Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Encompasses the content of the journals and conference proceedings of the SPIE (International Society for Optical Engineering).
* Covers the areas of optics, photonics, optoelectronics and imaging and is relevant to researchers in biomedicine, bioengineering, nanotechnology, computing, sensors, communications, and many other fields.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to scholarly papers in the Sciences, Social Sciences, and Arts and Humanities. Cited reference searching is also available.

More Engineering, Scientific, Technical, and Technology-related Databases

Standards

ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Engineering standards, test methods, journal articles, books, conferences and reports.
* ASTM standards and test methods are used across industry and academia in research, product development, safety, and quality.
* Browse by industry sector.
* Includes some joint ASTM and ISO standards.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text online of IEEE standards. IEEE standards cover electrical engineering, electronics, and related fields.

ISO Standards Catalogue
* Use the ISO catalog to identify standards or browse to preview content.
UW Libraries Research Guide for Standards
* Learn more about standards and how to find them.
* Discover what is available online and in print.
* Includes link to the UW Engineering Library Standards Database
UW Engineering Library Standards Database
Use this simple database to find the standards that the UW Engineering Library has in print.

Engineering Handbooks

Knovel This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Engineering and books and reference sources.
* "Engineering Data and Technical References to Solve Engineering Problems"
ASM Handbooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Metals and materials handbooks, including engineered materials. Reference resource for properties and other technical data concerning metals and materials.