Skip to main content
Skip to primary content
Skip to sidebar content
University of Washington
Start Your Research
Articles & Research Databases
Literature on your research topic and direct access to articles online, when available at UW.
Alphabetical list of electronic journal titles held at UW.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Resources for looking up quick facts and background information.
E-Newspapers, Media, Maps & More
Recommendations for finding news, audio/video, images, government publications, data sets and other types.
Librarian recommended resources & research tips tailored to your topic.
Citation Styles & Tools
Quick MLA, APA, and Chicago style guides for bibliographies; citation management software info.
Library materials reserved for your classes.
Collections & Archives
Unique online and physical collections on specific subjects, in distinct formats, and in special archives.
Mobile Search Tools
Mobile-optimized research databases and library-related mobile apps.
Use the Libraries
Your Library Account
Log in to renew borrowed materials, check on items you have requested, and pay fines.
Study & Meeting Spaces
Study, conference, event, and meeting spaces, and how to reserve them.
Computers & Printing
Computers, printers, and scanners in the Libraries.
Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery Service
Get PDFs of print articles delivered via email and borrow items not held at UW.
Borrowing & Access
What you can check out from the Libraries, how long, renewals, and returns.
on using the Libraries
Help & Support
Examples of digital scholarship at the UW and where to get assistance with any phase of your project.
Short, simple how-to and demos of frequently asked questions about using the Libraries and information resources.
Graduate Funding Info Service
Assistance with locating funding for research, tuition, travel, and other graduate school-related expenses.
Off-Campus Access & Technical Support
Using library resources from off-campus and other technical tips.
Tools for archiving and publishing the products of your research, including data sets, monographs, images, articles, and reports.
Scholarly Publishing & Open Access
Info on your rights as an author and open-access publishing alternatives.
Collaborative library instructional services that can improve the research and information skills of your students.
Resources for Writing
Campus writing help and links to online resources.
Libraries & Hours
Contact info, map location, and hours for all library branches.
News Events Exhibits
What's going on at the Libraries: announcements, upcoming events, and current exhibits.
People & Programs
Staff directory and info about the Office of the Dean and other library departments.
Support the Libraries
Give to the Libraries! Join the Friends of the Libraries.
Info for users with disabilities about navigating the Libraries and its services.
Student, staff, and librarian job opportunities at the Libraries.
Libraries policies governing use of library resources, space, and services.
Current Libraries strategic goals and initiatives.
about the Libraries
Get help 24/7 with this real-time chat service.
Get answers to less-urgent questions and comments via email.
Reach us during regular business hours. Main: 206-543-0242
Click to chat now with a UW librarian
ways to contact us
Primary Sources -- WWI
Primary Sources -- WWII
Primary Sources -- Other Wars
Start Your Research
University of Washington Libraries
History : Military
Primary Sources -- WWII
History : Military: Primary Sources -- WWII
A research guide to primary and secondary sources for military history.
All Hands 1922-2011
Anne S. K. Brown Military Collection
Betty H. Carter Women Veterans Historical Project
Combined Arms Research Library
Imperial War Museum: Posters of Conflict
Naval History and Heritage Command
Peace and War in the 20th Century
Rutger's Oral History Archives
US Army Heritage and Education Center
Veteran's History Project
William A. Gladstone Afro-American Military Collection
Atomic Bomb and the End of World War II
Correspondence ("Top Secret") of the Manhattan Engineer District, 1942-1946
Decision to Drop the Atom Bomb
Ground Zero 1945: Pictures by Atomic Bomb Survivors
Harrison-Bundy files relating to the development of the atomic bomb, 1942-1946
Memories of Hiroshima & Nagasaki
Voices of the Manhattan Project
Voices of the survivors from Hiroshima and Nagasaki
America and the Holocaust : a thirteen-volume set documenting the editor's book The abandonment of the Jews
Donovan Nuremberg Trials collection
Fritz Bauer Institute
Holocaust : selected documents in eighteen volumes
Holocaust Rescue and Relief
International Tracing Service (ITS) Digital Collection
Jewish Survivors of the Holocaust
Law Reports of Trials of War Criminals
Nazi War Crimes Disclosure Act
Nuremberg Trials Project
Records of the War Refugee Board, 1944-1945
Remember Me: Displaced Children of the Holocaust
Selected Digitized Documents Related to the Holocaust and Refugees, 1933-1945
Topical autobiographies of displaced people recorded verbatim in displaced persons camps
Trial of Adolf Eichmann
Trial of the Major War Criminals before the International Military Tribunal
United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
Voice/Vision Holocaust Survivor Oral History Archive
Voices of the Holocaust
Bainbridge Review 1941-1946
Final Accountability Rosters of Japanese-American Relocation Centers, 1944-1946
George and Frank C. Hirahara Photograph Collection, 1943-1945
Interrupted Lives: Japanese American Students at the University of Washington, 1941-1942
Japanese American Evacuation and Resettlement Digital Archive
Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day-to-Day Life
JARDA: Japanese American Relocation Digital Archive
Personal Justice Denied: Public Hearings of the Commission on Wartime Relocation and Internment, 1981
Suffering Under a Great Injustice: Ansel Adam's Photographs of Japanese-American Internment
Voices in Confinement: A Digital Archive of Japanese-American Internees
World War II
442nd Regimental Combat Team Records
African Americans in the Military - Subject Files of Judge William Hastie, Civilian Aide to the Secretary of War
After the Day of Infamy: "Man-on-the-Street" Interviews Following the Attack on Pearl Harbor
Canadian Letters & Images Project
Chaplain Higuchi Wartime Correspondence
Conditions and politics in occupied Western Europe, 1940-1945
Dutch East Indies Camp Drawings
Finnish Wartime Photograph Archive
George S. Patton Papers: Diaries, 1910 to 1945
Great Plains During World War II
Historic Publications from World War II
Image Bank WW2
Information control and propaganda: records of the Office of War Information
Japanese American Veterans Collection
Joseph Berry Keenan Collection
Joseph Fisher World War II Scrapbook
Nanking Massacre Project
Nazi Invasion of Poland in 1939
Pobeda. 1941-1945 / Победа. 1941-1945
Posters of World War II
Ration Coupons on the Home Front, 1942-1945 - Duke Libraries
Real Rosie the Riveter Project
Records of Headquarters, German Armed Forces High Command: Oberkommando der Wehrmacht
Records of the Tuskegee Airmen. Part 1
Remembering the War in New Guinea
Tokyo War Crimes Trial
Tracts et papillons clandestins de la Résistance
VOCES Oral History Project
Voices of civilian internment: WWII Singapore
War Posters 1940-1945
Warsaw Uprising 1944
Wartime Columns of Ernie Pyle
World Newsreels Online 1929-1966
World War II Collection
World War II Diaries of Ernest F. Easterbrook (1944–45)
World War II Diaries of General Joseph W. Stilwell (1941–1945)
World War II Documents
World War II Films
World War II Posters
Newspapers from the Period
Search the following digitized newspapers for articles dealing with the war.
Atlanta Constitution 1868-1984
Baltimore Afro American 1893-1988
Berliner illustrirte Zeitung 1941-1943, 1944-1945
Chicago Defender 1905-1975
Democracy at War: Canadian Newspapers and the Second World War
Guardian 1821-2003 & Observer 1791-2003
Japan Times Archives 1897-2017
Los Angeles Times 1881-1994
New York Times 1851-2012
Pittsburgh Courier 1911-2002
Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project
Rip Chord 1943-1947
Times of India, 1838-2003
Times of London 1785-1985
Washington Post 1877-1997
Primary Sources -- WWI
Primary Sources -- Other Wars >>
Nov 1, 2018 9:07 AM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.
Political Science, Government & Law
world war i
world war ii