Research Guides
History : Military: Encyclopedias
A research guide to primary and secondary sources for military history.
Encyclopedias help you figure out the who, what & where of a topic. Knowing the who, what & where of a topic is the first step in researching a topic and discovering the "how" and "why". Encyclopedias and dictionaries can provide background information and can be used to identify key people, events and dates which can then be used as search terms for finding additional information. Many also provide a jumpstart on your research by listing related readings.
Three online encyclopedia collections: Gale Ebooks, Oxford Reference Online & Oxford Research Encyclopedias.
Encyclopedias: General
- Atrocities, Massacres, and War Crimes: An Encyclopedia
This link opens in a new window
- Battles That Changed History: An Encyclopedia of World Conflict
- This link opens in a new window
- Behind Barbed Wire: An Encyclopedia of Concentration and Prisoner-of-War Camps
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity
- This link opens in a new window
- Fascism Through History: Culture, Ideology, and Daily Life
- This link opens in a new window
- Gale Encyclopedia of World History: War
- This link opens in a new window
- Historical Dictionary of Nuclear, Biological, and Chemical Warfare
- This link opens in a new window
- Sage Encyclopedia of War
- This link opens in a new window
- War and Religion: An Encyclopedia of Faith and Conflict
- This link opens in a new window
- Warfare and Armed Conflicts : A Statistical Encyclopedia of Casualty and Other Figures, 1492-2015
- This link opens in a new window
- Weapons of Mass Destruction: An Encyclopedia of Worldwide Policy, Technology, and History
- This link opens in a new window
- Women and War: A Historical Encyclopedia from Antiquity to the Present
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias: Other Wars
- Armenian Genocide: The Essential Reference Guide
- This link opens in a new window
- Bosnian Genocide: The Essential Reference Guide
- This link opens in a new window
- Conflict in Ancient Greece and Rome: the Definitive Political, Social, and Military Encyclopedia
- This link opens in a new window
- Conflict in the Early Americas: An Encyclopedia of the Spanish Empire's Aztec, Incan, and Mayan Conquests
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of African Colonial Conflicts
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of Ancient Battles
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of the Roman Army
- This link opens in a new window
- Middle East Conflicts from Ancient Egypt to the 21st Century: An Encyclopedia and Document Collection
- This link opens in a new window
- Modern African Conflicts: An Encyclopedia of Civil Wars, Revolutions, and Terrorism
- This link opens in a new window
- Warfare in the Roman Republic: From the Etruscan Wars to the Battle of Actium
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias: World Wars
- American women during World War II: an encyclopedia
- This link opens in a new window
- Children of the Holocaust
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of Indonesia in the Pacific War
- This link opens in a new window
- Holocaust: Country by Country
- This link opens in a new window
- Home front encyclopedia: United States, Britain, and Canada in World Wars I and II
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Companion to World War II
- This link opens in a new window
- World War II at Sea: An Encyclopedia
- This link opens in a new window
- World War II: The Definitive Encyclopedia and Document Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias: US Wars
- American Civil War: The Definitive Encyclopedia and Document Collection
- This link opens in a new window
- Americans at War: Society, Culture, and the Homefront
- This link opens in a new window
- Civil War Era and Reconstruction: An Encyclopedia of Social, Political, Cultural and Economic History
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of Media and Propaganda in Wartime America
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of Middle East Wars: The United States in the Persian Gulf, Afghanistan, and Iraq Conflicts
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of North American Indian Wars, 1607-1890: A Political, Social, and Military History
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of the Korean War
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War: A Political, Social, and Military History
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of the Spanish-American and Philippine-American Wars: A Political, Social, and Military History.
- This link opens in a new window
- Opposition to war : an encyclopedia of U.S. peace and antiwar movements
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Encyclopedia of American Military and Diplomatic History
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Encyclopedia of the Civil War
- This link opens in a new window
In-Depth Info: Handbooks & Companions
These books provide a survey of the state of research about a topic or region, historiography or concise overviews.
- Companion to American Military History
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to the Holocaust
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to the Meuse‐Argonne Campaign
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to the U.S. Civil War
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to the Vietnam War
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to Women's Military History
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to World War I
- This link opens in a new window
- Companion to World War II
- This link opens in a new window
- Handbook on Gender and War
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of Ethics of War
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of the American Revolution
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of the Seven Years' War
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of War
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Handbook of World War II
- This link opens in a new window
- Routledge Handbook of Military Ethics
- This link opens in a new window
- Routledge Handbook of the Crimean War
- This link opens in a new window
- Routledge Handbook of the Global History of Warfare
- This link opens in a new window
- Women in Combat: A Reference Handbook
- This link opens in a new window
Very Short Introductions
- Aerial Warfare: A Very Short Introduction
- This link opens in a new window
- American Revolution: A Very Short Introduction
- This link opens in a new window
- Civil Wars: A Very Short Introduction
- This link opens in a new window
- First World War: A Very Short Introduction
- This link opens in a new window
- French Revolution: A Very Short Introduction
- This link opens in a new window
- Mexican Revolution: A Very Short Introduction
- This link opens in a new window
- Military Strategy: A Very Short Introduction
- This link opens in a new window
- Modern War: A Very Short Introduction
- This link opens in a new window
- Trojan War: A Very Short Introduction
- This link opens in a new window
- U.S. Civil War: A Very Short Introduction
- This link opens in a new window
- War and Technology: A Very Short Introduction
- This link opens in a new window
- World War II: A Very Short Introduction
- This link opens in a new window