Allen Yonge Flamenco Collection - UW Ethnomusicology Archives: Guide to Collection

The Allen Yonge Collection is located in the UW Ethnomusicology Archives, Music Building Room 41. The collection is available for on-site listening and study only. Please contact the archivist at 206-543-0974 to set up a time for your visit.

Many of the recordings in the collection are available for listening as digital files. Logsheets prepared by Jim Kuhn provide a detailed description of contents of each file. These logsheets may be viewed in the on-line catalog entry for the collection - http://bela.music.washington.edu/ethno/catalog/collections/2009014

The majority of the Allen Yonge flamenco collection is made up of original recordings made by Chris Carnes in Spain during the 1960s, '70s, and '80s. His recordings include fiestas, lessons, weddings, and performances at other events, both formal and informal. A smaller collection was recorded by Carol Whitney in 1972-73. The Carnes and Whitney recordings were copied and preserved by Allen Yonge.

Most of Allen Yonge's portion of the collection consists of commercial records and CDs, with the exception of a small number of radio programs he produced in the early 2000s, as well as recordings he made in his studio, Timbre Recording, in the '70s and '80s. Many of the most influential and popular flamenco artists of the 20th and early 21st century are represented, including Carmen Amaya, Sabicas, Juan Maya "Marote," Paco de Lucía, Antonio Mairena, Carlos Montoya, José Greco, Juan Serrano, "La Niña de los Peines," and Fernanda and Bernarda de Utrera.

This collection of 330 records and 117 CDs nicely complements the more geographically focused live recordings of Chris Carnes and Carol Whitney. The following discography is a partial list of the commercial contents of the collection:

• Anthologies - Gran Antología Flamenca. 7 records. Geographical/thematic organization. CASP200.
• Misa Flamenca en Sevilla. RCA. Antonio Mairena, Naranjito de Triana & Luis Caballero; "El Poeta"/guitar.
• Misa Flamenca. Philips. Misa Mozarabe, pcc 628 & 623. Catholic mass with choir & flamenco singers & guitars. Serranito & Ramón de Aleciras/guitars; Chocolate, Pepe "el Culata" & los Serranos/singers.
• Anthology of Spanish Folklore Music. UNESCO. 4 discs. Everest 3286/4.
• La Niña de los Peines. Columbia Records. Set C-59 (there are 2 sets).
• Flamenco Favoritos, Angelillo de Valladolid. Nixa Record Co. 3 discs.
• Rosario and Antonio - los "Chavalillos Sevillanos." Decca. 3 discs.
• Flamenco. Carlos Montoya & Soledad Murallas. Disc Record Co., New York. 3 discs.
• Cantaores Famosos (Antología de Cante Flamenco). Odeon-EMI. 3 discs. Arranged by form.
• A History of Cante Flamenco. Washington Records. 2 discs. Manolo Caracol/Melchor de Marchena & Prof. M. Garcia Matos. 2 discs.
• Antología del Cante Flamenco. Orfeón LP-JM-05. 5 discs. Arranged by cante.
• Tesoros del Flamenco Antiguo. Pepe de la Matrona. 2 discs.
• The History of Cante Flamenco. Murray Hill S-4360. 5 discs (disc 3 missing)
• Archivo del Cante Flamenco. Vergara. 6 discs. Arranged by cante.
• Gran Antología Flamenco. RCA 35220. 10 discs. Arranged by geographical province.
• Cante Flamenco: Fernanda et Bernarda de Utrera. Ocora. 2 CD set.