Biology: Getting Started
Find Background Information
Subject encyclopedias are written to give background information about specific topics within a major theme, but not as detailed as a scholarly article. They can be easy to read so you learn some context around your topic or figure out what you'd like to research.
- Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full text encyclopedias in all subject areas - Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
More than 70 dictionaries and encyclopedias covering all subjects
Online Resources
- Animal Diversity WebAnimal Diversity Web (ADW) is an online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology at the University of Michigan
- Animals - National GeographicBrowse through images, photographs, videos, fast facts, and other information on various animal and plant species.
- Biology OnlineThe site provides a wealth of information in the diverse field of biology offering a forum for discussion, an editable-dictionary with thousands of terms, links to external resources, tutorials, articles and a biology book catalogue with user reviews.
Selected Encyclopedias
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia by ISBN: 9780787677503Publication Date: 2004Internationally renowned for its scientific reporting, coverage and illustrations, and serves as a major point of reference for researchers and students studying the animal kingdom.
The Basics of Biology by ISBN: 9781429473699Publication Date: 2004This volume provides students an introduction to the science of biology. It details the history of biology, as well as many of the field's basic theories and concepts for students. It demonstrates the modern tools and techniques that biologists use today.
