Biodiversity Resources

Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scientific and management literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians.

Biodiversity Heritage Library
More than 40,000 mostly 19th c. natural history books and journals
Global Biodiversity Information Facility
Download datasets of species or location data.
Macaulay Library
Wildlife media archive, with a focus on birds.

Global Plants This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Botanical resources from dozens of research institutions. Includes planty type specimens, scientific research articles and correspondence dating back hundreds of years.

USDA Plants Database
Focuses on vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. Includes names, checklists, automated tools, identification information, species abstracts, distributional data, crop information, plant symbols, plant growth data, plant materials information, etc.
University of Washington Botanic Gardens
Including Washington Park Arboretum, Center for Urban Horticulture, science and conservation information, and programs.

Bug Guide
Collection of bug photographs from the United States and Canada, hosted by Iowa State University Department of Entymology.
Integrated Pest Management
Resources on managing common pests in a way that balances environmental impact with pragmatic needs.

Frog

Seychelles and the dutch guianese frogs with their young

Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Formerly Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstract (ASFA). International database for marine, freshwater and brackish water resources, early 1900's-present.

Freshwater and Marine Image Bank
Digital collection of images related to freshwater and marine topics. It includes images of fish, shellfish, and marine mammals, pictures of fish hatcheries, dams, and vessels, materials related to polar exploration, regional and traditional fisheries, and limnological (freshwater) subjects.
Census of Marine Life
A variety of information on diversity, distribution & abundance of marine life, including scientific and popular books, research publications & maps.
Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
WHOI is the world's largest private, nonprofit ocean research, engineering and education organization. Access research activities, information and images on different animal species, as well as news and information on ocean and coastal-related topics.

John Johnston De Exanguibus Aquaticis Meerestiere, from Wikimedia Commons.

Birds of the World This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive life histories of North American breeding birds

Cornell Lab of Ornithology
Leader in the study, conservation, and appreciation of birds. Produces a popular app to identify birds.

A Toco Toucan (Ramphastos toco) at the London Zoo from Wikimedia Commons.