Skip to main content
University of Washington Health Sciences Library

Gerontology

Page developed with funding by the Division of Nursing, Bureau of Health Professions, US Department of Health and Human Services Grant #D09HP18978

Top 25 Electronic Learning Resource Suggestions for Care of Older Adults

Funding to develop this list was provided by the Division of Nursing, Bureau of Health Professions (BHPr), Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), Department of Health and Human Services under grant #D09HP18978-01-00 (PI:Belza)

1.      Health Care Reform and Medicare

http://www.kaiseredu.org/Tutorials-and-Presentations/Health-Reform-and-Medicare.aspx

Web-based tutorial with slides and lecture. Brief intro to Medicare. Impact of ACA on benefits, Medicare Part D, Medicare Savings, Medicare Advantage. Impact of ACA on Medicare spending and issues to follow.

 

2.      Long Term Care, Service Delivery, Financing and Policy Issues

http://www.kaiseredu.org/Tutorials-and-Presentations/Long-Term-Care.aspx

Web-based tutorial with slides and lecture. Includes primer on long term care in the US, financing including dual eligibility, policy implications includes additional resources.

 

3.      Bring More Patients into Wellness Care: The Affordable Care Act Overview

http://penncmebestpractice.org/bring-more-patients-wellness-care-affordable-care-act-overview

Web-based multimedia self-study tutorial that includes interactive mini-cases and additional resources. Covers change in Medicare coverage of annual wellness visit, how to encourage patients to participate in it and other screening tests due to changes in copayment requirements to improve overall health.

 

4.      Patient Centered Medical Home

http://penncmebestpractice.org/patient-centered-medical-home

Self-paced tutorial that covers topics such as guiding principles, is your practice ready?, factors associated with success, health information technology considerations, and getting started on the process.

 

5.      Culturally Competent Health Care Practice with Older Adults

https://www.mededportal.org/publication/254 (requires you to create a login to access)

Modules are divided into introduction to changing US demographics, then focus on specific culture and groups emphasizing their need for culturally appropriate health care services and include: African Americans; American Indians; Asian Americans; Asian Indians; Latinos; Refugees; and Religious Groups.

 

6.      Geriatrics Cultural Navigator

https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/igeriatrics/id365560773?mt=8

iPhone and iPad app available. Can be combined with other features (e.g. Beers criteria, vaccines) in iGeriatrics app.

 

7.      A Physician's Guide to Culturally Competent Care

https://www.thinkculturalhealth.hhs.gov/Content/ContinuingEd.asp?chooselist=yes&menu=Practitioner

Self-paced tutorial available for 9 hours of free CE from AANP. Uses case-based learning to encourage cultural competency in provision of health care.

 

8.      University of Nebraska Geri Pearls

http://www.unmc.edu/intmed/divisions/geriatrics/education/resources/geri-pearls.html​

Downloadable pocket cards for common geriatric syndromes, assessment and common criteria.

 

9.      Depression

http://www.gericareonline.net/tools/eng/depression/index.html

Provides both educational information for the health care provider on best practices for treatment of depression in the older adult as well as resources for patient teaching.

 

10.  Dementia in the Elderly Patient

http://www.healthcare.uiowa.edu/igec/resources-educators-professionals/geriasims/acadMenu.asp

In this virtual simulation, learners obtain history, perform virtual physical exams, order tests, consult with other health care professionals. They make decisions about diagnosis, treatment, and other issues in the care of older adult with dementia, and receive feedback about all actions and decisions. Also available for CME/CEU.

 

11.  Falls

http://www.gericareonline.net/tools/eng/falls/index.html

Provides both educational information for the health care provider on best practices for evaluation and management of falls in the older adult as well as resources for patient teaching.

 

12.  Falls in Older Adults

http://www.healthcare.uiowa.edu/igec/resources-educators-professionals/geriasims/acadMenu.asp (Click link for Falls in Older Adults)

In this virtual simulation, learners obtain history, perform virtual physical exams, order tests, consult with specialists and other health care professionals. They make decisions about diagnosis, treatment, and other issues in the care of an elderly patient who has fallen and/or is vulnerable to falls, and receive feedback about all actions and decisions. Also available for CME/CEU.

 

13.  Exercise in Elders

http://www.pogoe.org/productid/18819 (requires login to access)

Self-paced module with basic information on exercise in older adults. Second module has exercise for exercise prescription writing including case studies.

 

14.  Persistent Pain

http://www.gericareonline.net/tools/index.html

Provides both educational information for the health care provider on best practices for evaluation of chronic pain in the older adult as well as resources for patient teaching for pain managment.

 

15.  Elderly IMProvements & Advances in Chronic Constipation Treatment (IMPACCT)

www.ElderlyConstipation.org

Online presentations and clinical case studies of chronic constipation in older adults. Forum for consultation.

 

16.  "I don't want my mother to take that!" -- Addressing myths and concerns and managing side effects of opioid medications

http://www.pogoe.org/productid/20724 (requires login)

Self-directed unfolding case study of (mis)perceptions of patients, families and providers around use of opioids for pain management.

 

17.  Principles of Rational Prescribing

http://www.wakehealth.edu/prescribe/part2.htm

Case based self-learning web module on principles of rational prescribing to avoid PIMs, polypharmacy, and off label prescribing.

 

18.  Polypharmacy in Older Adults

http://www.healthcare.uiowa.edu/igec/resources-educators-professionals/geriasims/acadMenu.asp (Click on link for Polypharmacy)

In this virtual simulation, learners obtain history, perform virtual physical exams, order tests, consult with other health care professionals. They make decisions about diagnosis, treatment, and other issues in the care of older adult with special attention to polypharmacy, and receive feedback about all actions and decisions. Also available for CME/CEU.

 

19.  Sleep Disorders in the Elderly

http://www.pogoe.org/productid/18985 (requires login)

3 self-paced learning modules describe the impact of sleep disorders in the elderly, how to diagnose etiology and describe the nonpharmacologic and pharmacologic treatment.

 

20.  PATCH Match (Palliative Access Through Care @ Home)

http://mindonline.uchicago.edu/media/HOSPITAL/PATCH/PATCH.htm

Virtual house calls for frail older adult patients. Includes palliative care competencies and importance of transitional care and decisions across settings. Focus includes commonly seen geriatric syndromes such as dementia, pain, falls.

 

21.  Palliative care

http://classes.kumc.edu/coa/Education/AMED900/PalliativeCare.htm

Self-paced tutorial. Includes case studies with self-assessment questions and discusses issues around reimbursement.

 

22.  Curriculum for the Hospitalized Aging Medical Patient (CHAMP): Delirium

http://champ.bsd.uchicago.edu/delirium/index.html

Includes materials for teaching about risk assessment, prevention strategies and diagnosis using the Confusion Assessment Method (CAM) as well as treatment of agitated delirium. Also includes webinar or slide only views on recognition and clinical management of hospitalized older adults with delirium. 

 

23.  CHAMP Tools: Nursing Home Care

http://champ.bsd.uchicago.edu/nursingHome/index.html

Module includes information about improving the transition from hospital care to nursing home care for older adult patients.  Includes information re: funding and reimbursement; differentiating between types of care settings; discharge planning; teaching patients/families about what to expect from nursing home care. 

 

24.  Urinary Incontinence in Older Adults

http://www.healthcare.uiowa.edu/igec/resources-educators-professionals/geriasims/acadMenu.asp (Click link for UI)

In this virtual simulation, learners obtain history, perform virtual physical exams, order tests, consult with other health care professionals. They make decisions about diagnosis, treatment, and other issues in the care of older adult with urinary incontinence, and receive feedback about all actions and decisions. Also available for CME/CEU.

 

25.  Disaster Preparedness for Older Adults

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dym-kCH4k4I

Video from Ready.gov demonstrating how to help older adults prepare for disasters. What considerations regarding medications, medical equipment, home health, insurance, etc should be considered in these preparations.

 

Health Sciences Library | 1959 NE Pacific Street, T334 Health Sciences Building, Box 357155, Seattle, WA 98195-7155 USA, 206-543-3390 | Privacy | Terms
CC BY-NC 4.0 Text on this page created by UW Libraries is licensed under a CC BY-NC 4.0 license. Images and video are not included. See details.