Gerontology

Web-based tutorial with slides and lecture. Brief intro to Medicare. Impact of ACA on benefits, Medicare Part D, Medicare Savings, Medicare Advantage. Impact of ACA on Medicare spending and issues to follow.

Web-based tutorial with slides and lecture. Includes primer on long term care in the US, financing including dual eligibility, policy implications includes additional resources.

Web-based multimedia self-study tutorial that includes interactive mini-cases and additional resources. Covers change in Medicare coverage of annual wellness visit, how to encourage patients to participate in it and other screening tests due to changes in copayment requirements to improve overall health.

Self-paced tutorial that covers topics such as guiding principles, is your practice ready?, factors associated with success, health information technology considerations, and getting started on the process.

Modules are divided into introduction to changing US demographics, then focus on specific culture and groups emphasizing their need for culturally appropriate health care services and include: African Americans; American Indians; Asian Americans; Asian Indians; Latinos; Refugees; and Religious Groups. Requires you to create a login to access.

iPhone and iPad app available. Can be combined with other features (e.g. Beers criteria, vaccines) in iGeriatrics app.

Free, continuing education e-Learning programs. Uses case-based learning to encourage cultural competency in provision of health care.

Downloadable pocket cards for common geriatric syndromes, assessment and common criteria.

Provides both educational information for the health care provider on best practices for treatment of depression in the older adult as well as resources for patient teaching.

Provides both educational information for the health care provider on best practices for evaluation and management of falls in the older adult as well as resources for patient teaching.

Self-paced module with basic information on exercise in older adults. Second module has exercise for exercise prescription writing including case studies. Requires login to access.

Provides both educational information for the health care provider on best practices for evaluation of chronic pain in the older adult as well as resources for patient teaching for pain management.

Online presentations and clinical case studies of chronic constipation in older adults. Forum for consultation.

Self-directed unfolding case study of (mis)perceptions of patients, families and providers around use of opioids for pain management. Requires login.

3 self-paced learning modules describe the impact of sleep disorders in the elderly, how to diagnose etiology and describe the nonpharmacologic and pharmacologic treatment. Requires login.

Virtual house calls for frail older adult patients. Includes palliative care competencies and importance of transitional care and decisions across settings. Focus includes commonly seen geriatric syndromes such as dementia, pain, falls.

Self-paced tutorial. Includes case studies with self-assessment questions and discusses issues around reimbursement.

Includes materials for teaching about risk assessment, prevention strategies and diagnosis using the Confusion Assessment Method (CAM) as well as treatment of agitated delirium. Also includes webinar or slide only views on recognition and clinical management of hospitalized older adults with delirium.

Module includes information about improving the transition from hospital care to nursing home care for older adult patients. Includes information re: funding and reimbursement; differentiating between types of care settings; discharge planning; teaching patients/families about what to expect from nursing home care.

Video from Ready.gov demonstrating how to help older adults prepare for disasters. What considerations regarding medications, medical equipment, home health, insurance, etc should be considered in these preparations.