Research Guides
History : LGBTQ: Home
A research guide to primary and secondary sources for LGBTQ history.
Welcome!
Citation & Writing Help
Historians generally use the Chicago Style format. For more citation info see Citing Sources.
Schedule a writing center appointment.
Additional information on researching & writing.
Starting Points: Books & eBooks
See the eBook FAQ for directions to limit your search to ebooks only.
- By Topic - Type in the keywords that broadly describe your topic. For example: stonewall riots history
- By Title - Type in the first few words of the book title in quotations. For example: "sex and the weimar republic".
- By Author - Type in the name of the author. For example: laurie marhoefer
Starting Points: Journal Articles
The following research databases will help you identify articles on LGBTQ history. Additional research databases are listed under Articles.
- America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Best database to articles written on American & Canadian history - Diversity Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and non-scholarly articles focusing ethnicity, gender, sexuality & more dating back to 1970 - Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Best database to articles written on modern world history (Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe & Latin America from 1450 onward) - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Fulltext collection of scholarly journals & books in all disciplines
Starting Points - Primary Sources
This is a small sampling of primary sources dealing with LGBTQ history. Additional sources are listed under Primary Source section of this guide.
- Archives of Sexuality & Gender: Parts I - IV This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
