Skip to main content

Research Guides

Collection Guidelines: Information Science: Subject Info

These are the guidelines by which materials are purchased for the Library and Information Science collection of the UW Libraries (Seattle Campus).

About This Guide

These are the guidelines by which materials are purchased for the Information Science collection of the UW Libraries (Seattle Campus).  For questions or more information, please contact the Information Science Librarian.

UW Libraries: Collection Goals

The UW Libraries is committed to providing convenient and timely access to collections and information resources that are outstanding with respect to their quality, depth, diversity, format and currency to support the research and teaching missions of the University of Washington.

Subject Definition

Information science is the science and practice dealing with the effective collection, storage, retrieval, and use of information. It is concerned with recordable information and knowledge, and the technologies and related services that facilitate their management and use. More specifically, information science is a field of professional practice and scientific inquiry addressing the effective communication of information and information objects, particularly knowledge records, among humans in the context of social, organizational, and individual need for and use of information.

Saracevic, T. (2009). Information science. In M. J. Bates (Ed.), Encyclopedia of library and information sciences (3rd ed.) (pp. 2570-2585). New York: Taylor and Francis.

Subject Classification

Library of Congress Classification (LC):

  • Z4-996, bibliography and libraries
  • Q76, computer science and software

Dewey Decimal Classification (Dewey materials are all located in remote storage):

  • 017.5 – 028, catalogs and library and information sciences
  • 090, manuscripts and book rarities