Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask Us!
University of Washington Libraries

Library Guides

University of Washington Special Collections Anti-Racism Initiatives

We acknowledge that the Special Collections is the repository for some collections, material, finding aids and/or catalog records that may cause harm. We are actively working to address this issue.

Home

Statement on Anti-Racism

We believe that the histories of Black, Indigenous, and People of Color are essential. We acknowledge that Special Collections has a legacy of collecting bias, acquiring harmful collections, and using offensive language to describe our resources. We also acknowledge the structural issues with public service and personnel that perpetuate systemic discrimination and cultural bias. We are actively working to address this legacy. 

We are committed to combating institutionalized racism by supporting the preservation of the histories of underrepresented communities at UW and in the Pacific Northwest. We commit to examine our own practices continually and share our progress in this work. We endeavor to ensure that these histories are appropriately represented and cared for in Special Collections. 

Our stance on anti-racism is aligned with the position of the University of Washington Libraries and the university at large. For information regarding the libraries as a whole, please visit the Equity, Diversity, Inclusion and Anti-Racism page.  

Statement on Anti-Racist Description

In collaboration with UW Libraries Cataloging and Metadata Services (CAMS), UW Special Collections is committed to revising and critically examining the language we use to describe materials in our collections. For more information or feedback, please visit the Critical Cataloging and Archival Description Statement page

We Welcome Your Feedback!

We welcome feedback regarding finding aids and catalog records. You may submit feedback via this form or by emailing uwlib-critcat@uw.edu.

Reference Acknowledgements

Many thanks to the information professionals at Oregon State University who paved the way for this guide. 

UW Libraries | UW Bothell/CC Campus Library | UW Tacoma Library | Health Sciences Library | Gallagher Law Library
Responsible Use of Electronic Resources | Privacy | Terms