TURB480: Housing in the United States: Home
Newspaper Databases
|
|
Use these databases improve search functionality and access multiple articles. There are no limits and no costs involved using these databases. Global NewsstreamIncludes all four US newspapers of record (Los Angeles Times, NY Times, Washington Post, and the Wall Street Journal) as well as other national news sources such as Atlanta Journal-Constitution and Detroit Free Press. Access World NewsIncludes Seattle Times and Chicago Defender along with other state, national, and international news sources Note: Not all of the papers listed in the column below are in one of the databases above. |
New this year: direct access to the New York Times and Wall Street Journal!
You can now get a free login to the New York Times and Wall Street Journal through the UW Libraries. This means that, instead of going through the library databases, you can access the articles directly from the websites. Directions on setting up your account here:
Direct Newspaper Links
Direct Newspaper Links
​Many of these papers have limits on how many articles you may access per month.
Tips on accessing news articles
- If you hit a paywall on a news site: select the database that includes that newspaper (in the "News Databases" box above). Search for the article's title in quotation marks. Click and download the article for free!
- If you are searching for a specific topic: you can use the sophisticated search functions of a news database. You can then limit your results to the publications allowed for this assignment on the left menu.
