Research Guides
- University of Washington Libraries
- Library Guides
- UW Libraries
- Law, Societies and Justice
- Overviews & Starting Points
Law, Societies and Justice: Overviews & Starting Points
These sources are particularly helpful for finding overviews of topics in law and society. Encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference sources help you see a topic from a high level, giving you an overview of key concepts, vocabulary, texts, and more.
- Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new windowAuthoritative summaries on a wide range of social science topics, including criminal justice and criminology
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowReports, summaries, and pro/con views on a range of current issues,1923-present.
- Annual ReviewsLiterature reviews on emerging issues in research, including criminology, law and social science, and more.
- Oxford Handbooks OnlineIntroductions to topics and critical surveys of the current state of scholarship; significant coverage of criminology and criminal justice.
- Oxford Bibliographies OnlineScholarly, annotated listing of important sources on many fields of study, including criminology and other law and society fields.
News meets scholarship
The following sources provide scholarly context on current events in plain language.
- The Society PagesPlain language discussion of social science topics and research
- JSTOR DailyScholarly context for current events
- The ConversationArticles written by academic experts for the general public
- The Journalist's ResourceDiscussion of public policy news topics through a research lens
Selected sources
The Routledge Handbook of Disability Activism
The onslaught of neoliberalism, austerity measures and cuts, impact of climate change, protracted conflicts and ongoing refugee crisis, rise of far right and populist movements have all negatively impacted on disability. Yet, disabled people and their allies are fighting back and we urgently need to understand how, where and what they are doing, what they feel their challenges are and what their future needs will be. This comprehensive handbook emphasizes the importance of everyday disability activism and how activists across the world bring together a wide range of activism tactics and strategies. It also challenges the activist movements, transnational and emancipatory politics, as well as providing future directions for disability activism. With contributions from senior and emerging disability activists, academics, students and practitioners from around the globe, this handbook covers the following broad themes: * Contextualising disability activism in global activism * Neoliberalism and austerity in the global North * Rights, embodied resistance and disability activism * Belonging, identity and values: how to create diverse coalitions for rights * Reclaiming social positions, places and spaces * Social media, support and activism * Campus activism in higher education * Inclusive pedagogies, evidence and activist practices * Enabling human rights and policy * Challenges facing disability activism The Routledge Handbook of Disability Activism provides disability activists, students, academics, practitioners, development partners and policy makers with an authoritative framework for disability activism.
The Oxford Handbook of Crime and Criminal Justice
This handbook provides an accessible, high-quality, and comprehensive introduction to and overview of the operation of the American criminal justice system. It is divided into five sections covering the purposes and functions of the system, its problems and priorities, and its maininstitutions-police and policing, prosecution and sentencing, and community and institutional corrections. Highly regarded in the field, Michael Tonry brings together a mix of established, senior scholars and up-and-coming writers to provide authoritative and cutting-edge contributions on hot-buttontopics, from the justice system's handling of immigration and terrorism to racial profiling, parole, and re-entry, as well as bread-and-butter issues like incapacitation, jails, drugs, and police strategy. As countries vary substantially in the detailed operation of some agencies and few scholarshave detailed knowledge of the operation of two or more countries' systems, the focus is principally, though not exclusively, on the American justice system.
Human Rights and the United States
This two-volume set offers easy to grasp explanations of the basic concepts and laws in the field, with emphasis on human rights in the historical, political, and legal experience of the United States. This indispensable resource surveys the legal protection of human dignity in the United States, examines the sources of human rights norms, cites key legal cases, explains the role of international governmental and non-governmental organizations, and charts global, regional, and UN human rights measures. New third edition offers up-to-date data on Guantanamo Detention Centre, immigrant rights, the Torture Bill and many more current event topics. Comprehensive Introduction places the history of human rights in the United States in an international context. Details over 300 human rights terms, ranging from asylum and cultural relativism to hate crimes and torture, with a discussion of the significance of the term, examples, and citations of appropriate documents and court decisions. Provides expanded coverage of over 60 Primary Documents, including conventions, treaties, and protocols related to the most up-to-date international action on ethnic cleansing, freedom of expression and religion, violence against women, and much more. New Historical Timeline Nine Appendices, with additional sources of information A comprehensive Bibliography, to expand research on this interesting topic Comprehensive Index Available in print and ebook formats This comprehensive, timely volume is a must for large public libraries, university libraries and social science departments, along with high school libraries.
